Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    I am stuck in a checkout process. I'm not sure what settings were changed to effect this. I tried to check out a product, entered new customer info and then it siplayed my shipping information and wants to continue to step 2. I click continue checkout and nothing happens. The page just flashes. I can't get past this step. Just a week ago it was working fine. Any ideas?? Thanks in advance!

    ~Andrea

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    289
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    Hi there
    Sounds like that you migth not allow shipping to that zone.
    Wolf Skafte-Zauss
    http://e-commerce-pros.com
    Tools for E-commerce Professionals

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    I tried looking at the zone issue and that doesn't seem to fix the issue. I did notice that the smooshed text is ok in firefox but is smooshed in IE. It still won't let me continue the checkout. I was testing this last week and it was working fine and I was able to complete a test run. Now it is just stuck. Any other ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    130
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    Quote Originally Posted by andikress View Post
    I tried looking at the zone issue and that doesn't seem to fix the issue. I did notice that the smooshed text is ok in firefox but is smooshed in IE. It still won't let me continue the checkout. I was testing this last week and it was working fine and I was able to complete a test run. Now it is just stuck. Any other ideas?
    any link?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    289
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    I still think this is most likely a zone issue.
    1. Make sure you have defined a zone
    2. make sure the shipping module you are using is assigned to above zone
    3. ensure that theshipping address of your test order is within the above zone

    good luck
    Wolf Skafte-Zauss
    http://e-commerce-pros.com
    Tools for E-commerce Professionals

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    Thanks for all your help. It turned out that it was a free shipping issue that messed it up. Thanks for your time!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas, US
    Posts
    215
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    Quote Originally Posted by andikress View Post
    Thanks for all your help. It turned out that it was a free shipping issue that messed it up. Thanks for your time!
    I am experiencing this same issue with a client web site, on specific product that has "Always Free Shipping" selected, but they also have the UPS shipping module. I wonder if this could be a combonation of the recent updates they made to their hosting server (mysql5), the UPS mod, and/or a free shipping bug?

    Any thoughts? I will keep searching but any advice is appreciated.
    This message brought to you by Jac.
    Happily developing sites with Zen Cart since 2003.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    26
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Help! Stuck in step 1 of 3

    Quote Originally Posted by andikress View Post
    Thanks for all your help. It turned out that it was a free shipping issue that messed it up. Thanks for your time!
    I have been perusing the forum for an answer to this same problem (customers cannot get beyond Step 1 of 3 in Checkout) and thought I'd expand on what andikress said about the free shipping issue.

    I want to offer free shipping in the US and Canada, so I figured the answer to that was to just install Freeshipper in the Shipping Module (admin/modules/shipping), so I did, and turned off Perweightunit. For some reason this is the block that keeps a buyer from going through checkout.

    So, remove Freeshipper and install perweightunit with the settings thus:

    Per Unit

    Enable Per Weight Unit Shipping
    True

    Shipping Cost per Unit
    0

    Handling Fee
    0

    Tax Class
    Taxable Goods

    Tax Basis
    Shipping

    Shipping Zone
    --none--

    Sort Order
    0

    And you'll have free shipping to the US and Canada. I have no idea so far how to deal with buyers in Mexico or outside of North America yet. I may have to do it manually.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Checkout stuck in step 1
    By wkrein in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Dec 2007, 02:34 PM
  2. Stuck @ step 4
    By fiangotech in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30 Nov 2007, 07:54 AM
  3. Stuck On The Third Step Of Installation
    By karoloydi in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14 Nov 2007, 02:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •