Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    94
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    I apologize in advance if this has been answered (probably somewhere!), I searched but didn't find exactly what I was looking for.

    I don't want to change the fact that my overall template (including sideboxes) automatically adjusts to screen width, but I do want to manually control the width of all the text pages.

    I would post a link, but no matter what I do google finds my posts and I can't have that. The reason is that I have a large logo picture at the top of my site (and no text to the right, all contained in the logo). I have received feedback that the page text "sticking out" past the logo looks weird and I aim to correct... thanks so much!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    SWFL
    Posts
    469
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    Post a screen shot.
    Lesli in SW Florida ~ writer, teacher, and dodging hurricanes!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    post your website using yoursite (ddoott) com ( slash ) yaddayadda

    I really don't think google would find something like that.

    You could even do: yoursite.com backwords -> moc.etisruoy
    Last edited by rainthebat; 12 Jan 2008 at 07:02 PM. Reason: add

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    94
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    Ooh, screenshot was a good idea!

    vod en prod ucts DOT com /images/VPScreenshot

  5. #5

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    Only thing about posting screenshot is it still got your website url into the page, do a "view source" and search for you website - you'll find it

    o.k. are you hoping to control each text page individually, or are you wanting to have each page have a different setting?

    If you want to control all the text on all the pages, you will need to create a <div> tag to wrap the text in by editing the includes/templates/custom_template/common/tpl_main_page.php

    Also since you are not using the right column, you may want to get rid of it all together so that you don't see the extra white space on the right side (unless you want that).
    Last edited by rainthebat; 12 Jan 2008 at 08:10 PM. Reason: I'm a jerk.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    94
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    That is extremely annoying.. I will ask again and again, Moderaters/Admin, PLEASE give me the right to edit my own posts indefinitely....

    Can someone then remove the source containing my url?

    Thanks for the help rainthebat. I want to control all the pages at once and make them the same. I can go look up the tags for hard coding the <div> width then, is that what the idea is?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    I think the administrators will let you edit your link out of the post if you can contact them.

    -------------------

    To set custom width:

    You will need to open includes/templates/template_default/tpl_main_page.php

    when you are finished editing it you'll need to save it to:

    includes/templates/custom/tpl_main_page.php

    -------------------

    To be able to custom adjust the text you want, you will need to create a <div id="yourIdName"> The content of all the pages is loaded dynamically here </div>

    and in the stylesheet in includes/custom/stylesheet.css you create the #yourIdName{} and specify the width that you want between the brackets for example: #yourIdName{width:400px}

    I will tell you where to put the <div> tags on the next post. Let me know if this stuff is making any sense so far.
    Last edited by rainthebat; 12 Jan 2008 at 08:34 PM. Reason: add

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    94
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    Quote Originally Posted by rainthebat View Post
    I think the administrators will let you edit your link out of the post if you can contact them.

    -------------------

    To set custom width:

    You will need to open includes/templates/template_default/tpl_main_page.php

    when you are finished editing it you'll need to save it to:

    includes/templates/custom/tpl_main_page.php

    -------------------

    To be able to custom adjust the text you want, you will need to create a <div id="yourIdName"> The content of all the pages is loaded dynamically here </div>

    and in the stylesheet in includes/custom/stylesheet.css you create the #yourIdName{} and specify the width that you want between the brackets for example: #yourIdName{width:400px}

    I will tell you where to put the <div> tags on the next post. Let me know if this stuff is making any sense so far.
    Thanks so much - that makes sense yes - as far as the implementation I'll give it a shot and see how it goes. Thanks so much again...

  9. #9

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    You'll want to find:
    Code:
    <?php
    }
    ?>
        <td valign="top">
    <!-- bof  breadcrumb -->
    in the tpl_main_page.php

    and add your custom <div>

    Code:
    <?php
    }
    ?> <div id="yourCustomDiv">
        <td valign="top">
    <!-- bof  breadcrumb -->
    and you'll need to find the best place to end that div. In my case, I put the footer inside this custom div, and ended the div after the footer. In your case you may want the footer to display across the whole page, in which case you would need to have the div ending somewhere just before the right column begins.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Modifying Template Width - Text Only - Not Sideboxes

    I believe the Google problem was caused by the site domain name (just the name) being whole and thus searchable.

    If you post the name broken up like vo den or v o d e n (or backward), I think that will keep it from being found.

    Nobody but the admins is going to be given the ability to indefinitely edit posts.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Only 2 sideboxes appearing out of 8 selected using comstock template
    By coucho in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23 Jun 2012, 01:46 AM
  2. Admin is text only - no template.
    By Scotchmonster in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22 Dec 2010, 12:21 PM
  3. Modifying small details in sideboxes.
    By spikeycactus in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17 Dec 2008, 12:00 PM
  4. No Template only Text
    By mythical in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18 Feb 2008, 06:17 AM
  5. Template Width Not Changing
    By jvoce in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9 Nov 2007, 09:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR