Thread: Ship by city

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Niagara Falls, Ontario
    Posts
    377
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Ship by city

    Is it possible to setup a ship by city?

    I have a client that would like to offer free shipping in the surrounding area where he lives but charge shipping for the rest of BC.

    I know the zones are there for the provinces but I would like to see if we can narrow it down further than to the province.

    Is this possible, and if so, how?

    Thanks
    Robert

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    10,263
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Ship by city

    I know of a "total solutions" shipping module by CEON - but it is only commercially available. However, I personally believe it to be good value for money.
    20 years a Zencart User

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    235
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Ship by city

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob905 View Post
    Is it possible to setup a ship by city?

    I have a client that would like to offer free shipping in the surrounding area where he lives but charge shipping for the rest of BC.

    I know the zones are there for the provinces but I would like to see if we can narrow it down further than to the province.

    Is this possible, and if so, how?

    Thanks
    Robert
    Can a simple hack be done to test the ship to CITY field: if true $0 else follow zen cart config ....
    What file must I look for to try and accomplish this ?
    www.planetebio.net - Eat Right Feel Good !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Ship by city

    You can always add a look up on the shipping for the customer's city and alter the shipping ...

    What shipping module(s) are you using for everyone else?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    235
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Ship by city

    free shipping and table rate...
    www.planetebio.net - Eat Right Feel Good !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Ship by city

    You can get the shipping city from the $order with:
    $order->delivery['city']

    Controlling the $this->enabled is how to turn on/off shipping modules ...

    However, there are several Free shipping module ... are you using Free Options freeoptions to try to control the Free Shipping?

    Or are you trying to use Table for everyone and "something" for the Free shipping for 1 city?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    235
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Ship by city

    I have ONE product that is always free shipping ( product master :: Yes, Always Free Shipping )
    The rest of our items will be shipped according to Table rates

    No not using Free Options freeoptions, however I do plan on it as I would only want to ship free per city on orders over a certain value....

    using FREE SHIPPING! freeshipper
    www.planetebio.net - Eat Right Feel Good !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Ship by city

    You can do it one of two ways ...

    You can change the cost in the Table Rate table to 0.00 when the $order->delivery['city'] is the free city ...

    Note: the one concern is typos or abbreviations on the City ...

    But, you could check the:
    $order->delivery['city']

    and when it is the Free City you can change cost to 0.00 ...

    Would that work for you? Or do you need a separate shipping module for the Free City?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    235
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Ship by city

    Wow...thanks for the help...

    But, you could check the:
    $order->delivery['city']

    and when it is the Free City you can change cost to 0.00 ...

    somethingb like this :

    $cityList[] = "city1";
    $cityList[] = "city2";
    $cityList[] = "city3";
    $cityList[] = "city4";
    $cityList[] = "city5";

    if (isset($cityList[trim(strtolower($order)])))
    www.planetebio.net - Eat Right Feel Good !

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    235
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Ship by city

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeh View Post
    You can do it one of two ways ...

    You can change the cost in the Table Rate table to 0.00 when the $order->delivery['city'] is the free city ...

    Note: the one concern is typos or abbreviations on the City ...

    But, you could check the:
    $order->delivery['city']

    and when it is the Free City you can change cost to 0.00 ...

    Would that work for you? Or do you need a separate shipping module for the Free City?
    The best I could get city free fripping was to add this to modules/shipping/tables.php:

    LOOK FOR: $this->quotes = array('id' => $this->code,

    and place the bellow JUST above that line of code to look like this :

    // CITY HACK BEGIN
    $cityList[] = "montreal";
    $cityList[] = "city2";
    $cityList[] = "city3";
    $cityList[] = "city4";
    $cityList[] = "city5";
    if (in_array(trim(strtolower($city)), $cityList)) {
    $shipping=0;
    }
    // CITY HACK END
    $this->quotes = array('id' => $this->code,

    Hope this helps anyone trying to accomplish this.
    If anyone can help make this better, please do...
    Cheers,
    Johnny
    www.planetebio.net - Eat Right Feel Good !

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 Drop Ship and regualr ship into one setup?
    By amart79196 in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1 Apr 2014, 04:10 PM
  2. Setting-up USPS - problems with Ship From is Guam and Ship To is US
    By pamcc in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2010, 03:07 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3 Apr 2009, 12:46 PM
  4. Free ship and COD in home city???
    By stevefriedman71 in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10 Jan 2007, 07:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR