Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Manufacturers logo

    Hi Everyone

    I am wanting to know if there is a way of scaling a manufacturers logo to automatically fit within the sidebox.

    The Problem: I have dowmloaded various manufacturers logos and have uploaded them directly to my site. But a number of them are far to big for the sidebox. I didn't want to have to go through the several hundred logos I have and rescale them manually and then have to reload them all.

    I look forward to your comments.

    Regards

    Fred

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,162
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    Fred,
    I am sorry, but I believe you will have to take the time and use Photoshop and resize each Mfg logo to the width of the sidebox you are using...
    Mark
    Hare Do

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    It would be best to use the right sizes, but if push comes to shove you could customize the template file for the sidebox and add in the parameters for the images ...
    Code:
      $content .= '<div class="centeredContent">' . zen_image(DIR_WS_IMAGES . $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_image'], $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_name']) . '</div>';
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    I had no idea on how to modify that line so I scaled all images to fit the sidebar.

    I found that if you have imagemagic installed you can use the commandline "mogrify -resize 140 *.jpg" to scale all .jpg files to 140px wide and retains the aspect ratio. Just change the extention to modify the image type.

    It would be helpfull if there was a mod to display manufacturers logos inside the sidebox and have that size dependent on the width you have your sidebox set to.

    I am not a coder so I am not even going to attempt it.

    Regards

    Fred

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    48
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    I would be grateful if someone could say if there is any easy way of adding the manufacturer's logo to the results page when someone selects a particular manufacturer from the drop-down menu on the main page. THX.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    Under Tools|Layout Boxes Controller there are 2 manufacturers side boxes.

    manufacturer_info.php
    manufacturers_list.php

    manufacturers_list.php provides the list of manufacturers you refer to.

    manufacturer_info.php displays the manufacturers information. This is only displayed once you have selected a product from the list.

    Example, you select Sony from the list, it will display a list of products from that manufacturer, once you select a product the manufacturers details will display.

    I don't know how to display the manufacturers information prior to selecting a product.

    Regards

    Fred

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    48
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    Thanks, both of those sideboxes are on. I tried what you suggested but still can't see logos.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    Sorry if these are really stupid questions, but sometimes we assume to much.

    1. Did you create the required manufacturers under Catalog|Manufacturers with their associated logos?
    2. When you created the products did you select a manufacturer from the list (Products Manufacturer:)
    3. Are the logos in the correct format. I only use .jpg .gif .png files.

    The assumption here is that you used the default manufacturers directory to save the logos.

    Regards

    Fred

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    48
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    Not stupid, and yes I did all of those things.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Manufacturers logo

    I am using a custom template and have just checked to see if I had done something custom to get manufacturers logos working.

    I do have a custom template for the manufacturers list but not the logo.

    Here is my /includes/templates/template_default/sideboxes/tpl_manufacturer_info.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    /**
     * Side Box Template
     *
     * @package templateSystem
     * @copyright Copyright 2003-2005 Zen Cart Development Team
     * @copyright Portions Copyright 2003 osCommerce
     * @license http://www.zen-cart.com/license/2_0.txt GNU Public License V2.0
     * @version $Id: tpl_manufacturer_info.php 3429 2006-04-13 06:11:47Z ajeh $
     */
      
    $content "";
      
    $content .= '<div id="' str_replace('_''-'$box_id 'Content') . '" class="sideBoxContent">';
          if (
    zen_not_null($manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_image']))
      
    $content .= '<div class="centeredContent">' zen_image(DIR_WS_IMAGES $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_image'], $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_name']) . '</div>';
      
    $content .= '<ul style="margin: 0; padding: 0; list-style-type: none;">' "\n" ;
          if (
    zen_not_null($manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_url']))
      
    $content .= '<li><a href="' zen_href_link(FILENAME_REDIRECT'action=manufacturer&manufacturers_id=' $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_id']) . '" target="_blank">' sprintf(BOX_MANUFACTURER_INFO_HOMEPAGE$manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_name']) . '</a></li>' "\n" ;
      
    $content .= '<li><a href="' zen_href_link(FILENAME_DEFAULT'manufacturers_id=' $manufacturer_info_sidebox->fields['manufacturers_id']) . '">' BOX_MANUFACTURER_INFO_OTHER_PRODUCTS '</a></li>' "\n" ;
      
    $content .= '</ul>' "\n" ;
      
    $content .= '</div>';
    ?>
    Also check that the actual logo file exists in /images/manufacturers

    Question: Do product images show as expected?

    Apart from this I have no real suggestions.

    Regards

    Fred

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Manufacturers Logo in Manufacturer Page instead of Category Image
    By jeanjeanitaly in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Nov 2010, 11:27 PM
  2. Manufacturers logo and Info doesn't show on product page anymore
    By RobertG in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29 Jun 2010, 01:20 PM
  3. Moving Manufacturers Logo??
    By Fett in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 8 Jun 2010, 04:53 AM
  4. Manufacturers logo on Product Info pages - How To?
    By Still Crazy in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4 Aug 2007, 02:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR