Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by
bonnit
yup ive done that too, short of replacing the files from the zip though, i will do that and keep watching and post back next time it happens, just to see if there is a pattern, thanks for your time :)
The front end will work whether or not IH is installed, next time it is uninstalled, check that the front end is actually serving the files from the bmz_cache rather than from images
edit-----------------------------------------
One other thing
livvylou.co.uk/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=88_119
the images on the page are around 100kb each, giving a total of 3mb for the images on the page alone, the image sizes seem awfully large for small images
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Well, no luck. I cannot install the IH folder contents in my store..which is called www.mydomain.com/zencart because the folders that it wants to put there, already exist.
What I did do was put the contents of each of the folder from IH into each of the corresponding folders on my server in the store"Zencart". After installing each of the files and folders, I did have a "ImageHandler3" at the bottom of the tools pulldown, I hit the install link for IH3 and then when I went to use IH , I dropped down to tools>ImageHandler3 and was presented with a blank screen, so I'm definitely not doing something right here.
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by
jeffsuwanee
Well, no luck. I cannot install the IH folder contents in my store..which is called
www.mydomain.com/zencart because the folders that it wants to put there, already exist.
What I did do was put the contents of each of the folder from IH into each of the corresponding folders on my server in the store"Zencart". After installing each of the files and folders, I did have a "ImageHandler3" at the bottom of the tools pulldown, I hit the install link for IH3 and then when I went to use IH , I dropped down to tools>ImageHandler3 and was presented with a blank screen, so I'm definitely not doing something right here.
1) yes the folders will already exist, because all add-ons are made of a number of files that have to be in specific folders
2) Image handler won't work if all its files aren't there
The install files are new files that you are adding and
The Required Core Edits are files that need to overwrite existing files to add new functionality regarding image handler to those files
If your install is new and you have no other add-ons installed you should be able to just install both folders easily, if however you have installed other add-ons you need to check that none of them are using the files that the "required core edits" folder will overwrite. If they are you will need to merge the two versions of that file
-----------------edit
you also need to rename some folders
in includes/modules there will be a folder called your-template, rename that to the name of your template
in includes/templates there will be a folder called your-template, rename that to the name of your template
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
GOT IT ! Thank you. I didn't realize that iit was ok for the already existing files and folders to be rewritten. Works great. Thanks again.
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by
jeffsuwanee
Installation confusion: IH3 using ZC 1.3.9h
I have followed the renaming of folders and such in the installation folders within the download of IH3. I don't mean to sound stupid, but the next bit of instructions asks me to place the contents of (1 Install Files and 2 Required Core Edits) into my store. I dont have a folder location by way of FTP called "my store". Where exactly do the contents of these two folders go in the hierarchy of my zencart folder on the server?
I already have folder names which are the same as I'm copying over from these two folders, I want to make sure I'm putting them in the right place and not over-writing a folder by accident.
Thanks in advance, and please excuse my stupidy, I'm only a few days into using Zencart.
that can be confusing...no worries
my link to my store is http:fantasiesrealm.com/market
market="my store"
if you do not have your files inside another folder like I do then just transfer the files from each section in zip to the exact same places on your server---open your folder on your computer.....transfer the files inside NOT the entire folders, to the corresponding folder on your server
remember to place the ones that you can to your overrides folder, usually named just like your template...like the one from Lightbox--should you have that mod installed too.
hope that did not confuse you more
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by
jeffsuwanee
GOT IT ! Thank you. I didn't realize that iit was ok for the already existing files and folders to be rewritten. Works great. Thanks again.
Just so you know for future reference, you never want to upload complete folders to override same named existing folders. Ever.
It is ok to do this with files, but not with folders. That's why the instructions read to "upload the contents of the folders", rather than "upload the folders".
Good luck and happy Zenning :smile:
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Does anyone know how to retrieve the path for a cached image in the header? (implementing in the includes/templates/{template}/common/html_header.php file)
Since this is before the page templates are included, I'm assuming there are some files that need to be required, and there must be a function or something to retrieve the cached path as it's done on the products page.
I'm hoping this is fairly simple for someone that understands Image Handler better - I've spent several hours looking through the files and about to the point of giving up. The couple threads found on this site and through Google were unanswered.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Additional background:
This is for implementing the meta tags for a Facebook "like" button on product pages to avoid outputting the original image path (full sized without a watermark) in the header where it can be read from the source code and accessed directly. Also, depending on the frequency of Facebook checking, the full size 1.5-2mb pictures would eat up a lot of unnecessary bandwidth.
This will only be used on product info pages, and it can be assumed I'm running a freshly installed zen cart 1.3.9h with Image Handler 3. The product name, original picture path, and other information from the products table are stored in variables that can be used for retrieval.
None of the implementation code beyond finding the cache path is needed.
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by
shinypenguin
Does anyone know how to retrieve the path for a cached image in the header? (implementing in the includes/templates/{template}/common/html_header.php file)
Since this is before the page templates are included, I'm assuming there are some files that need to be required, and there must be a function or something to retrieve the cached path as it's done on the products page.
I'm hoping this is fairly simple for someone that understands Image Handler better - I've spent several hours looking through the files and about to the point of giving up. The couple threads found on this site and through Google were unanswered.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Additional background:
This is for implementing the meta tags for a Facebook "like" button on product pages to avoid outputting the original image path (full sized without a watermark) in the header where it can be read from the source code and accessed directly. Also, depending on the frequency of Facebook checking, the full size 1.5-2mb pictures would eat up a lot of unnecessary bandwidth.
This will only be used on product info pages, and it can be assumed I'm running a freshly installed zen cart 1.3.9h with Image Handler 3. The product name, original picture path, and other information from the products table are stored in variables that can be used for retrieval.
None of the implementation code beyond finding the cache path is needed.
Figures! After writing up the post, I finally figured out what was going wrong.
The full implementation is quite convoluted, but it turned out all the needed files were already included... I will just share the part I was having difficulty with - retrieving the cache path after having the original image path. Hopefully it will save someone else time because it certainly took up a lot of mine!
This code is in the includes/modules/meta_tags.php file. The only required prior modification is adjusting the sql query around line 194 to also retrieve p.products_image. "FB" is attached to all variables to avoid any conflicts. The cached path is stored as META_TAG_FBIMG_CACHE so it can be retrieved in the html_header.php file:
PHP Code:
$FBproducts_image = $product_info_metatags->fields['products_image'];
$FBproducts_image_extension = substr($FBproducts_image, strrpos($FBproducts_image, '.'));
$FBproducts_image_base = preg_replace('/'.$FBproducts_image_extension . '$/', '', $FBproducts_image);
$FBproducts_image_medium = DIR_WS_IMAGES . 'medium/' . $FBproducts_image_base . IMAGE_SUFFIX_MEDIUM . $FBproducts_image_extension;
$FBnewimg = handle_image($FBproducts_image_medium, '', MEDIUM_IMAGE_WIDTH, MEDIUM_IMAGE_HEIGHT, '');
list($FBsrc, $FBalt, $FBwidth, $FBheight, $FBparameters) = $FBnewimg;
define('META_TAG_FBIMG_CACHE', (($request_type == 'SSL') ? HTTPS_SERVER . DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG : HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG ).$FBsrc);
Warning:
1. I implemented this using Image Handler 2, but the functions used in this look about the same from what I can tell.
2. This has not been completely tested or optimized, and it could very likely cause errors under unknown circumstances. I did not test it at all on secure pages, since my product pages are all http. It does have a code snippet that should insert https where required to avoid SSL warnings, but if you encounter them, this code is likely the cause.
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
Well it is my turn, I can not figure out what happened but the hover now shows a large (actual uploaded size) and nothing I do will make it behave. In admin it seems that no matter what image gets uploaded it is shown as small, medium and large as 1200x1200
I instructed my client to go to photoshop and resize them down to 1000x1000 then do a save for web to upload to store and see if that helps.
troubleshooting done:
uninstall IH3 5 times
reinstall IH3
remove the files then reup the entire IH3 files
set image settings to be with and without height-- no difference noticed
set her settings exactly as my store's settings
Lightbox 1.6.2 was misbehaving but reinstalled it and now it works but not IH3...lol
tried with a new template (copy of my own), classic template and the problem still exists --- hover for medium size is huge, images still claim to be all 1200x1200 and not in respective sizes IH3 does, watermark does not work and size for the largest image should be 675 yet it does not appear to be acknowledged by software.
this is her image settings:
Small Image Width 165
Small Image Height
Heading Image Width - Admin 57
Heading Image Height - Admin
Subcategory Image Width
Subcategory Image Height
Calculate Image Size true
Image Required true
Image - Shopping Cart Status 1
Image - Shopping Cart Width 50
Image - Shopping Cart Height
Category Icon Image Width - Product Pages
Category Icon Image Height - Product Pages
Top Subcategory Image Width
Top Subcategory Image Height
Product - Image Width 225
Product - Image Height 225
Product - Image Medium Suffix _MED
Product - Image Large Suffix _LRG
Product - Number of Additional Images per Row 4
Image - Product Listing Width 165
Image - Product Listing Height
Image - Product New Listing Width 165
Image - Product New Listing Height
Image - New Products Width 165
Image - New Products Height
Image - Featured Products Width 165
Image - Featured Products Height
Image - Product All Listing Width 165
Image - Product All Listing Height
Product Image - No Image Status 1
Product Image - No Image picture no_picture.gif
Image - Use Proportional Images on Products and Categories 1
IH resize images yes
IH small images filetype no_change
IH small images background 255:255:255
IH small images compression quality 85
IH small images watermark no
IH small images zoom on hover yes
IH small images zoom on hover size Medium
IH medium images filetype no_change
IH medium images background 255:255:255
IH medium images compression quality 85
IH medium images watermark yes
IH large images filetype no_change
IH large images background 255:255:255
IH large images compression quality 85
IH large images watermark yes
IH large images maximum width 675
IH large images maximum height
IH watermark gravity Center
link: http://ewc2007.com/store/
I am crosseyed from trying all different things to no avail.
Re: Image Handler 3 Support Thread
I installed Image Handler today.
As I understand it, my images used to be resized on the fly when they were called for. This is what slowed the site down. Correct?
I just added my first product since I install Image Handler. My uploaded image was 431kb. It is stored in public_html/images. Nothing different there.
Now I assume that what happens now is that Image Handler makes a set of resized images and stores them, ready for use. The new sizes are about 3kb, 9kb and 73kb. Where are they stored?
As my uploaded image is 431kb, do I now see that I am uploading images that are WAY too big? Should I be uploading images of less than 100kb?