Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Hi, we've migrated to a new server and Im having some issues with IH2.
Its working fine except that any new image i upload for a product does two things;
- it wont watermark the image
- the hover image is full size (i.e; 700 x 700 pixels, the largest size image we have)
This is only happening on NEW images, all of the older IH2 images work fine.
I checked the permissions on the bmz_cache directory, the folders are all 755, but the files are weird; some are 666 and some are 644
Could it be a permissions issue that is stopping IH2 from either caching, creating or watermarking the new image?
Thanks,
Scott.
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
When does compression occur for large images? My uploaded large image is not compressed during uploaded, nor is it stored w/ compression. I am not sure if it is served with compression, because I can't get image properties out of the lightbox, but I'm just wondering then, when are the large images ever compressed according to the large image compression setting for IH. thank you.
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by
finlander
When does compression occur for large images? My uploaded large image is not compressed during uploaded, nor is it stored w/ compression. I am not sure if it is served with compression, because I can't get image properties out of the lightbox, but I'm just wondering then, when are the large images ever compressed according to the large image compression setting for IH. thank you.
Images are compressed when they are written to the image cache.. Your original images stay intact..
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
We need the usual compliment of information that we always ask for here..
- Link to your site (specifically links DIRECTLY to the products which work correctly and links to the ones that don't)
- What are you image settings??
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Scott_C
Hi, we've migrated to a new server and Im having some issues with IH2.
Its working fine except that any new image i upload for a product does two things;
- it wont watermark the image
- the hover image is full size (i.e; 700 x 700 pixels, the largest size image we have)
This is only happening on NEW images, all of the older IH2 images work fine.
I checked the permissions on the bmz_cache directory, the folders are all 755, but the files are weird; some are 666 and some are 644
Could it be a permissions issue that is stopping IH2 from either caching, creating or watermarking the new image?
Thanks,
Scott.
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by
DivaVocals
Images are compressed when they are written to the image cache.. Your original images stay intact..
So why have a compression setting for large images, if large images never get compressed when they are served as large images? In other words, when does the large image compression setting actually work? The small image compression setting works when the image is served in the small size, and likewise for the medium served image, but I still cannot see what effect the large image compression setting has on either stored images or on served images.
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by
finlander
So why have a compression setting for large images, if large images never get compressed when they are served as large images? In other words, when does the large image compression setting actually work? The small image compression setting works when the image is served in the small size, and likewise for the medium served image, but I still cannot see what effect the large image compression setting has on either stored images or on served images.
You are misunderstanding what Diva is saying, Large images are compressed when they are copied to the image handler cache and this compressed large image is what is normally served, (unless you have cocked something up, or you are using lightbox, slimbox, fualbox, choclate box and havent merged the files correctly).
Note the word Copied in red above
The large image you upload is not touched by image handler except to make a copy of it and compress that copy and store that copy in the image handler cache.
Your original Large image is left untouched so that, at some stage in the future, if you change your watermark or the size you want the large image to display at you can just upload the new water mark set the new sizes for images, clear the image handler cache, and your new images will work straight away.
If image handler did actually overwrite your original image, you would have to reupload all the product images on your site, whenever your branding (and watermark) changes.
A link to your site to see what the issue is might help
Also what happens when you right click on the large image lightbox gives you does it tell you the name of the image (never used lightbox, slimbox etc)
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
thanks Nigel,
I don't have a problem or anything with my site, I just was curious because I couldn't see that the large image being served was compressed in any way .. but I use lightbox and right-clicking on the large lightbox image does not give a menu that allows me to see the size, so perhaps that large image being served via lightbox is getting compressed .. I just can't tell one way or the other.
The large image viewable in the IH admin area must be the native image (I'm guessing), or an uncompressed copy, because it is full native-image size. The only problem would be if that image is a copy, because according to what you said, it should be compressed to my 85% setting (in that case), but it's full size, so I'm guessing it must just be the native original. That's fine, maybe we see large native in IH admin, but lightbox serves compressed large ..
Maybe the large lightbox image is 85% compressed .. I just can't tell because it does not give a contextual right-click menu.
no biggie .. I was just wondering.
http://www.vintage-adventures.com/
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by
finlander
thanks Nigel,
Maybe the large lightbox image is 85% compressed .. I just can't tell because it does not give a contextual right-click menu.
no biggie .. I was just wondering.
http://www.vintage-adventures.com/
lightbox may not give you a right click contextual menu but if you look at the source code
Quote:
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
document.write('<a href="images/ads/1937Chrysler.JPG" rel="lightbox-g" title="1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad \"ALL OVER THE MAP\""><img src="bmz_cache/e/e7cb8afd368ec35060c3d36cfa60f3af.image.150x206.JPG" alt="1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad \"ALL OVER THE MAP\"" title=" 1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad \"ALL OVER THE MAP\" " width="150" height="206" /><br /><span class="imgLink">larger image</span></a>');
//--></script>
<a href="images/ads/1937Chrysler.JPG" rel="lightbox-g" title="1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad" all="" over="" the="" map""="">
<img src="bmz_cache/e/e7cb8afd368ec35060c3d36cfa60f3af.image.150x206.JPG" alt="1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad "ALL OVER THE MAP"" title="1937 CHRYSLER SEDAN Ad "ALL OVER THE MAP"" width="150" height="206"/>
<br/>
<span class="imgLink">
</a>
You see that the image displayed in the page is coming from image handlers cache, but the one in the lightbox link is the original image, there are instruction somewhere on how to successfully merge the files, i am sure Diva who has (I think) successfuly merged these files will be able to tell you where they are
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
thanks again, Nigel, that makes sense, but also sounds pretty complex, I may tackle it at some point in the future. It's not critical right now, but very good to know that lightbox files need merged w/ IH in order to compress served large image. Very good to know. I'll check with Diva when I have the time to try the merge. Thank you for your time.
Re: Image Handler 2 Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by
finlander
thanks again, Nigel, that makes sense, but also sounds pretty complex, I may tackle it at some point in the future. It's not critical right now, but very good to know that lightbox files need merged w/ IH in order to compress served large image. Very good to know. I'll check with Diva when I have the time to try the merge. Thank you for your time.
Actually you may want to query that on the lightbox support thread, as the version available here is an older version
There is apparently a newer version and they were discussing IH2 lightbox compatibility about a week ago on this thread here