It is a table you need to insert into your database?Quote:
Originally posted by missyenta@Jan 18 2006, 06:39 PM
stupid question. really stupid.
where on earth do i create this table? in a text file? where do i put it? :blink:
Printable View
It is a table you need to insert into your database?Quote:
Originally posted by missyenta@Jan 18 2006, 06:39 PM
stupid question. really stupid.
where on earth do i create this table? in a text file? where do i put it? :blink:
Has this mod been updated with the code addition on the first page and any changes mentioned up to now?
I am also curious if this will work with Quick updates/Easy Mod before I install it and break something (old habits die hard...lol)
b
I'm trying to do step #1 in the readme:
Installation
-------------------------------------------
First things first, you will need to make a table. Assuming you have zen_ as a prefix for your tables, the following mysql code will work. Otherwise, modify `zen_products_with_attributes_stock` accordingly.
You do know of course that what you have put together here is what they call the "Holy Grail" of e-commerce? Aka Inventory by attribute multi-tiered. It has been sought after by clothing stores and others for nearly a decade. Which in Internet years is a Millenium.
However I have to put my $0.02 into this one. Especially since it is the Holy Grail for me as well.
First it needs to be modified to use the overrides system. Looks like that can be done with some simple structure changes and I may have that done soon.
Secondly the zen cart attributes/options system does lack and is EXTREMELY confusing. Sorry folks but comparing it to other carts it really is. While this extension is taking place I would suggest adding a attributes wizard to this contribution so that attributes and their options can be created from a single screen or maybe two. This wizard could then post creating the attributes and options and forward the customer to the variants page for editing of the variants if they wish.
Consider that the "Arc of the Covenant" and my $0.02.
Cheers,
BigWil
missyenta -
All that means is if when you installed Zencart, is you installed it with the function of adding the prefix "zen" to your database then you can install the sql as is.
If you installed it without the prefix (like I do), then you need to change:
`zen_products_with_attributes_stock` to `products_with_attributes_stock`
b
I'm also hoping someone out there may be using this in conjunction with Quick Updates.Quote:
Originally posted by bettysue@Jan 18 2006, 04:11 PM
I am also curious if this will work with Quick updates/Easy Mod before I install it and break something (old habits die hard...lol)
b
Anyone?
Best,
Audra :)
hmmm... if I added this mod to my doorknobs site how long would it take to enter all the possible product combinations?
Take one product for example: a simple doorknob set can have:
1 of 4 functions
1 of 2 backsets
1 of 2 door handings
1 of 15 outside finishes
1 of 15 inside finishes
1 of 36 outside knobs/levers
1 of 36 inside knobs/levers
1 of 12 rosettes on outside
1 of 12 rosettes on inside
too many choices to figure out on my fingers, but the trusty old calculator says that's a total of 671,846,400 possible combinations. Damn good thing they're made to order: I wouldn't want to have even one of each possible combination in stock...
whoops - i left part out. this is the code to make the table (follows the text I pasted in the last message):
CREATE TABLE `zen_products_with_attributes_stock` (
`stock_id` INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT ,
`products_id` INT NOT NULL ,
`stock_attributes` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL ,
`quantity` INT NOT NULL ,
PRIMARY KEY ( `stock_id` )
)
I know that this table needs to be created, just don't know how or where to do so ;)
thanks for your help so far, i really appreciate it!!
Go to Tools > SQL Patches and drop this into the big field there:
CREATE TABLE `products_with_attributes_stock` (
`stock_id` INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT ,
`products_id` INT NOT NULL ,
`stock_attributes` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL ,
`quantity` INT NOT NULL ,
PRIMARY KEY ( `stock_id` )
);
That should fix you right up. The key is to not use the zen_ in the SQL Patches tool as it will always add the table prefix required per its config file.
Also you were missing the ; at the end.
BigWil
whee, added the prefix that i somehow, for some reason have been using and it works like a charm. this should go into the readme, for folks who are as un-enlightened as myself :)
thanks a bunch bigwil!!