Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Copying customer details from old site

    Hello,

    When I upgraded from 1.38 to 1.39 I decided it best to start a fresh and use it as an opportunity to remove alot of un needed mods etc.

    I decided it easier to transfer all the old customer details over but not their order details. So manually copied information from the old database to the new.

    Unfortunately now when returning customers access our system no addresses are stored unless they enter them.

    (I have copied the address book over too) This means I am ending up with orders with blank names and addresses, and more importantly customers are being forced to re enter details or find their address in the address book!

    Anyone know where I might have gone wrong?

    Regards,
    Sam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    Customer information is held in 3 tables:
    customers
    customers_info
    address_book
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    Hello,

    I have looked into this and it seems I have added all this info.

    Having looked a bit further the problem seems to be around the orders table in the database and not the customers.

    Unless the customer edits the address the three address_format_id's seem to show "0", changing this to 6 means that the address is showing on the order now.

    How do I make it put the correct address_format_id into the database automatically?

    Kind Regards,
    Sam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    The orders table is only used when on the Customers ... Orders ...

    If you are having problems with the checkout or editing the Customers address information then there is a problem with their settings in the:
    address_book

    If you do not have the correct settings on the records for the:
    address_book

    for a customer, then there is a problem ...

    The table:
    customers

    links to the table:
    address_book

    where the primary address is the:
    customers_default_address_id

    in the table:
    customers

    that matches to the:
    address_book

    with the fields:
    address_book_id
    customers_id

    The other records in the:
    address_book

    for the matching:
    customers_id

    are the additional addresses for the customer ...

    Where, specifically, are you getting errors on the Customer Addresses?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    Thanks for your time

    Basically the address is not pulled up when people log in to their account, so when they make an order no addresses come up unless added again by the customer.

    This then affects shipping calculations.

    The address then doesn't show up in the admin>super orders screen (or edit orders or standard orders)

    However on checking the orders table of the database the address is in all billing, shipping and customer address. The only problem being the address_format_id which is set to 0 as standard (changing it as stated makes the addresses become visable in the admin)

    Any ideas where this might be?

    Sam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    Quote Originally Posted by totalsam View Post
    So manually copied information from the old database to the new.
    Quote Originally Posted by totalsam View Post
    Anyone know where I might have gone wrong?
    You answered your own question.

    This is why the upgrade instructions never advise doing such manual extraction of selective data. The upgrade process automatically retains all information intact when followed as instructed.

    Something to consider next time.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    I wanted to start completely afresh with no additional database tables but wanted my customer data on the new store so old customers could still come back to me....

    Don't believe there was any other way....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    You say you wanted to start fresh on your upgrade ... so does this mean that NONE of the database tables from v1.3.8 were used?

    Then, you say that you wanted to maintain your existing Customer information so you imported your tables:
    address_book
    customers
    customers_info

    How did you import this information?

    Do you still have a copy of your v1.3.8 database?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    I did not use any of the tables from 1.3.8.

    I installed 1.3.9 and once I checked it was working I copied the data from the 1.3.8 customers, customers_info and address_book and put it into the new 1.3.9 store.

    I used phpMyAdmin to do this. I also think I checked that the two tables were identical and they appeared to have the same headers.

    I still have the database from 1.3.8 yes.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Copying customer details from old site

    Somewhere in copying the data from the database tables of v1.3.8 there is something not matching up ...

    Without actually going through your database tables to see what is wrong, it is hard to guess where the specific problem is and the best way to fix this ...

    You might try comparing those tables currently in v1.3.9 with the ones in v1.3.8 and see if they really match up ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Copying background from old site to new one
    By clay2299 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30 Jul 2010, 12:48 AM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7 Oct 2009, 05:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR