Thread: Blank Sidebox

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Blank Sidebox

    Hello,

    I would like to add a online chat feature to my store which would be inserted in a sidebox. So far i've tried several methods but without success...usually the result is a page that won't load.

    Where would i put this code :<div align='center' id='VolusionLiveChat'><a href='http://www.volusion.com/livechat_software.asp'>Free Live Chat Software</a></div>
    <script defer type='text/javascript' src='https://livechat.volusion.com/script.aspx?id=14' ></script>

    in my tpl_blank_sidebox.php. I put the same code in one of my define pages through zen cart and it works fine. If you have the answer please write it out exactly as if i were a newb because i am Thanks in advance.

    Matt

  2. #2

    Default Re: Blank Sidebox

    I had the same problem and finally gave up on the side box. I just framed it the way I wanted on the home page. You can see what I did here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    106
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Blank Sidebox

    I have been trying to do the same thing with a lot of issues.

    I did get it to work.

    I installed the blank box mod.
    http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=174

    I created a file called chat.html

    In it put your volusion code like mine:

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    <html>
    <body>
    <!-- Begin Volusion Live Chat -->
    <div align='center' id='VolusionLiveChat'><a href='http://www.volusion.com/livechat_software.asp'>Free Live Chat Software</a></div>
    <script defer type='text/javascript' src='https://livechat.volusion.com/script.aspx?id=155249' ></script>
    <!-- End Volusion Live Chat -->
    </body>
    </html>[QUOTE]

    Upload file to your http://www.<yourstore>.com/chat.html

    Then you need to do some editing.
    Open /includes/languages/english/extra_definitions/blank_sidebox_defines.php

    Start by changing the box title to "Live Help"

    FIND: define('TEXT_BLANK_SIDEBOX',
    AFTER ADD: '<Iframe src="http://www.stuffupforgrab.com/chat.html" width="130" height="65"></Iframe>');

    So line will look like:

    define('TEXT_BLANK_SIDEBOX', '<Iframe src="http://www.stuffupforgrab.com/chat.html" width="130" height="65"></Iframe>');

    Of course you change the store name to yours.

    Then

    Open /includes/templates/template_default/sideboxes/tpl_blank_sidebox.php

    FIND: $content .= '<p>' . TEXT_BLANK_SIDEBOX . '</p>';
    INLINE AFTER:

    I didn't want any extra lines, so I used:

    $content .= '';

    If you want to add a comment, I think this would be:

    $content .= '<p>Click icon above for chat</p>';

    Or whatever you prefer for a comment.


    Hope this helps you out.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Blank Sidebox Blank Page after adding code for livechat software
    By whatisthat456 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3 May 2012, 10:40 AM
  2. Blank Sidebox, no borders or header, just blank
    By chris32882 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3 Dec 2009, 06:22 PM
  3. Flash hack&blank sidebox = blank page
    By AmandaGero in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20 Apr 2009, 06:19 PM
  4. Blank Sidebox Mod - remove a blank sidebox
    By PJD in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14 Mar 2008, 02:09 PM
  5. Blank sidebox
    By scorpio4646 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16 Dec 2007, 10:26 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR