Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    115
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    In the costumer sign up section, the phone number is flagged with an asterisks and required text. However, I still receive orders without a phone number included. While I can fill orders when this occurs if the customer is using PayPal, my credit card processor requires a phone number to process those orders.

    Where is the code that makes the field required? Can I edit it or fix it so a customer cannot complete a credit card purchase without a phone number (xxx) xxx-xxxx including area code?

    Another unrelated issue I am having is customer communications being eaten by filters or bouncing back as undeliverable when I try and reply to questions or update customers on their orders. I have spoken to my host, but did not get a coherent answer on how to solve the issues.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    People use spaces etc.

    You could force it by changing the validation to trim it then test the results ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    115
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeh View Post
    People use spaces etc.

    You could force it by changing the validation to trim it then test the results ...
    Please put that in no-geek speak please. I have no idea what you mean.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    Peek in the module for the create_account.php ...

    You will see the lines for testing the telephone:
    Code:
      if (strlen($telephone) < ENTRY_TELEPHONE_MIN_LENGTH) {
        $error = true;
        $messageStack->add('create_account', ENTRY_TELEPHONE_NUMBER_ERROR);
      }
    If that the code had a trim on it:
    Code:
     if (strlen(trim($telephone)) < ENTRY_TELEPHONE_MIN_LENGTH) {
        $error = true;
        $messageStack->add('create_account', ENTRY_TELEPHONE_NUMBER_ERROR);
      }
    Then blanks are not allowed ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    115
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    Thanks! So, hopefully, with a "trim" spaces or blanks will no longer be a problem? :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    Blanks for the phone number will word ...

    Fred was here ...

    will still work as a phone number ... but a least it will try to get one out of folks based on your settings on that field ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    174
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    We are having the same problem with the telephone field, and I don't think people are entering spaces, because when I enter three spaces, I get the error to add a telephone number.

    How are customers getting around entering a phone number? Or perhaps they are entering it and it's getting lost somewhere? This is happening for some PayPal Express orders, and some PayPal Pro orders made on the site with a credit card. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    With PayPal Express Checkout transactions, if the customer doesn't supply a phone number to you from the PayPal screen, it won't be copied from PayPal into your store.
    You have two options:
    1) Change your PayPal account to "require" a telephone number be supplied. Sometimes this is not advised, even PayPal recommends against it.
    2) Email your customer and ask them to give you a phone number or update their account with their phone number.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    174
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Fixing a required field that isn't working.

    Thanks, but what about the regular credit card orders we see that are missing phone #s? We already made the adjustments for Express.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24 Nov 2022, 08:51 PM
  2. Adding a required field during Checkout that Shows on the Invoice
    By Rabbcon in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28 Jan 2010, 12:04 AM
  3. Required Field not working?
    By fallen_angel21 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15 Jul 2009, 12:27 AM
  4. State Field Not Required During Registration but Required in Admin?
    By Stenrique in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2 Jun 2007, 09:13 AM
  5. Company Name: field on create account isn't working
    By immersive in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22 Jan 2007, 05:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR