Plugin Contributions

Default Can't get to Admin area, Just getting a Blank Screen

Hello all,

This is my first time working with zencart, and I am trying to get familiar with the system so I will be able to offer a shopping cart solution to future clients. Right now, I am trying to set up a "dummy" store on one of our older domains (not to ACTUALLY sell anything just yet, but rather so I can experiment and become comfortable with zencart)

After I was excited about successfully installing zencart, I was crushed after trying to get into my admin area for the first time...

Instead of a login page or admin account info, I get a blank screen. Completely blank. Ugh!

I searched the faq and found the following guide:
    https://www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=84

Unfortunately, though, none of the suggestions worked for me. Here's what I did for each suggestion:

Section 1: Since my admin page won't show at all, I thought this would be my solution. I located the /admin/.htaccess file and renamed it to ".htaccess_bak". That didn't work, so I tried naming it "htaccess_bak". No luck there either. So I moved on to section 2...

Section 2: I cleared my browser cache, cleared all cookies, and still no luck. My browser does accept cookies. Still I think this isn't my problem, b/c as far as I can tell, this isn't a session problem (it's a blank screen problem!)

Section 3: As I stated above, I don't actually intend to sell anything from this specific website. Therefore, when I was installing zencart, I DID NOT enable SSL because I won't actually be processing transactions at this time. Would that have messed things up somehow?

Section 4: I know my admin username and pw, I just can't figure out where to input it!

Can anyone help me to understand what went wrong? I am baffled, especially since I felt good about the installation and I believed that I did everything correct on my end. I followed all the setup instructions provided in the docs.