Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Have messed up my site with HTACCESS :/

    I was trying to make sure everyone coming to http://website.co.uk was redirected to http://www.website.co.uk
    So I read up on it and see that I needed to upload a .htaccess file with 3 lines in it.
    It read:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^website\.co\.uk$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.website.co.uk/$1 [R=301,L]

    I placed it in the root of my site and it worked, redirecting to www as I wanted.
    But it's also messed up everything else..!
    I can't click any links, they all try to go to a html page, instead of php - All going to a "Not Found" page.
    So allo I can get to is the front page of my site and that's it.

    I've tried changing the .htaccess file to just "RewriteEngine On" and even tried deleting it, but with no effect, the site is still messed up.

    Anyone know how (if) I can fix it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,789
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Have messed up my site with HTACCESS :/

    If this is all that you have done then deleting it should remove it and it's affects

    Try clearing your browser cache
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Have messed up my site with HTACCESS :/

    Hm that's not fixed it.
    I even tried IE (usually use Firefox) and it's still not working.

    It's possible this is a red herring, I have also changed a few category names directly via MySQL as I thought it would be faster than using the Zen Cart admin.
    This wouldn't have any side effects would it?
    I have tried editing my categories in Zen admin, and creating new ones, but nothing helps. It's not just categories though, it's all links.

    my site if needed is http://www.funkimunkibadges.co.uk
    Try any link, nothing works..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,789
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Have messed up my site with HTACCESS :/

    It's possible this is a red herring, I have also changed a few category names directly via MySQL as I thought it would be faster than using the Zen Cart admin.
    You hopefully backup before touching the DB directly???

    Try disabling your SEO url thing OR if you have the htaccess just remove what you added for the other issue...

    SEO normally uses htaccess
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    38
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Have messed up my site with HTACCESS :/

    Ok I've found the problem.
    Enable SEO URLs had turned itself on in Zen Cart admin..
    That was causing it not to find any pages.
    I guess the rewrite turned that on.
    Relieved

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Changed site root folder and now have bad htaccess problem(s)
    By bodkin77 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30 Apr 2013, 10:57 AM
  2. v139h Custom .htaccess problems with existing html site while testing in subfolder
    By dw08gm in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24 May 2012, 06:55 PM
  3. What I have messed up?
    By kubio in forum General Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15 Dec 2010, 06:43 AM
  4. Doh! Overwrite with admin/htaccess now I have no panel..
    By toxee in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Dec 2010, 06:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR