Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    69
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Deleting an old version of a contribution

    I would want to delete old versions of my contributions. These old versions are obsolete, some have minor changes, the last one uploaded is better than those. Is there a way (a procedure) to do that, lisibility in contributions will then be better for downloaders ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    64,747
    Blog Entries
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    214

    Default Re: Deleting an old version of a contribution

    When there are many revisions, the most recent one is the one most people will download since that's the link that is presented most prominently.
    The other revisions are there in case people need to compare theirs or go back and look at how the code worked before a bug was fixed or a feature changed, as well as to see the descriptions of what has changed over time, etc.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    69
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Deleting an old version of a contribution

    Yes, but I make a distinction between MINOR and MAJOR updates.
    I think old major revisons must be kept online, whereas minor often succeed one after another by bringing a few corrections and that it is enough to keep the last minor one and not intermediate or bugged ones. The contribution developer is clever enough to make its own cleaning/deleting. The user can read a changelog if any in contribution, or use WinMerge/UltraCompare if he really want to know what as changed, but majority don't bother about that.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. error when deleting old customers
    By godin5150 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30 Sep 2007, 03:05 AM
  2. Old finnish module contribution to 1.3.6
    By buzzy in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 24 Jul 2007, 09:56 PM
  3. Old quickbooks contribution?
    By Reesy in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26 May 2006, 08:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR