Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    I am trying to add two new pages to my Information Sidebox. I've read many messages about this, and did some experimenting, but can't get this to work.

    I noticed an add-on module to automatically add new pages to More_information, but I wanted to do this manually to learn how the pageswork.


    I entered this SQL patch via the admin area: (taken from the discussion of the add-on mod to add pages to More Info)

    Code:
    insert into configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, 
    configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, 
    use_function, set_function) values ('Define Site News', 'DEFINE_SITE_NEWS_STATUS', '1', 'Enable 
    the Defined Site News Link/Text?<br />0= Link ON, Define Text OFF<br />1= Link ON, Define 
    Text ON<br />2= Link OFF, Define Text ON<br />3= Link OFF, Define Text OFF', '25', '85', 
    now(), now(), NULL, 'zen_cfg_select_option(array(\'0\', \'1\', \'2\', \'3\'),');
    
    insert into configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, 
    configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, 
    use_function, set_function) values ('Define Feedback', 'DEFINE_FEEDBACK_STATUS', '1', 'Enable 
    the Defined Feedback Link/Text?<br />0= Link ON, Define Text OFF<br />1= Link ON, Define 
    Text ON<br />2= Link OFF, Define Text ON<br />3= Link OFF, Define Text OFF', '25', '85', 
    now(), now(), NULL, 'zen_cfg_select_option(array(\'0\', \'1\', \'2\', \'3\'),');
    The options for setting the two pages then appeared in Admin, under Config.

    I set both pages to 1. (What do the other non-zero options do?!)



    Next, I added the following to my information.php file:

    Code:
     if (DEFINE_SITE_NEWS_STATUS <= 1) {
        $information[] = '<a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_SITE_NEWS) . '">' . BOX_INFORMATION_SITE_NEWS . '</a>';
      }
      if (DEFINE_FEEDBACK_STATUS <= 1) {
        $information[] = '<a href="' . zen_href_link(FILENAME_FEEDBACK) . '">' . BOX_INFORMATION_FEEDBACK . '</a>';


    Next, English.Php file:

    Code:
      define('BOX_INFORMATION_FEEDBACK', 'Feedback!');
      define('BOX_INFORMATION_SITE_NEWS', 'Site News');
    To filenames.php, I added:

    Code:
    define('FILENAME_DEFINE_SITE_NEWS', 'define_site_news');
    define('FILENAME_DEFINE_FEEDBACK', 'define_feedback');
    define('FILENAME_SITE_NEWS', 'site_news');
    define('FILENAME_FEEDBACK', 'feedback');
    (did I actually need BOTH? ( I think so; One does the 'nav' part, the other the actual HTML)


    Next, I placed files into
    includes/languages/english
    feedback.php
    site_news.php

    Each looks like this:
    Code:
    <?php
    
    
    define('NAVBAR_TITLE', 'Feedback');
    define('HEADING_TITLE', 'Feedback');
    
    define('TEXT_INFORMATION', 'Page 3 text goes here.');
    ?>
    And in includes/languages/english/html includes/custom_template/

    I placed the actual HTML file, error-free and containing nothing but straight html.



    What I get is....
    The two names appear in the Information sidebox.
    They are clickable.
    When I click on them, though, the pages that TRY loads are:

    .....cart/index.php?main_page=feedback
    .....cart/index.php?main_page=site_news

    and I am taken to the internal cart 404 error page.

    I have tried solving this with the sole help of messages, wikis, and other zen-cart info that's on the site, but I cannot figure out what's wrong.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    PS---I saved the filenames correctly on the server with regard to case-sensitivity...
    Last edited by Donn; 1 Dec 2009 at 08:07 PM. Reason: clarification

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    Have you created the defines pages??

    includes/language/english/html_includes/your template name/define_feedback.php

    includes/languages/english/html_includes/your template name/define_site_news.phps
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    Have you created the defines pages??

    includes/language/english/html_includes/your template name/define_feedback.php

    includes/languages/english/html_includes/your template name/define_site_news.phps
    Yes; both were included in this folder...

    Those files included the actual HTML assigned to the pages...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    ere are 8 things to effect this

    Get the about us module to review what they are
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    241
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    ere are 8 things to effect this

    Get the about us module to review what they are
    THank you so much for directing me to that module!

    I was able to check one at a time, and found what was messed up.

    1.The files that belonged in

    includes\languages\english\html_includes\MYTEMPLATE\

    had not been put in there, only in

    includes\languages\english\html_includes\


    2. I had no header.php file in
    \includes\templates\MYTEMPLATE\templates

    THANK YOU!!!!
    Last edited by Donn; 2 Dec 2009 at 12:50 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding NEW links to the Information Sidebox

    HELP PLEASE !!!,
    I followed all the steps in the module and after updating the SQL everything worked except that now ALL of my pages show the header of the About us I added insted of the correct header ...
    What do I have to do to fix it ?
    Thank you for the prompt reply

    my website is www .shop. yogi baby .com.au

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Adding links to Information sidebox
    By kpax in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 5 Feb 2010, 07:54 AM
  2. Adding a NEW Option in the Information SideBox
    By JonathonB in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3 Apr 2009, 01:13 AM
  3. Adding links to Information sidebox
    By isaacr25 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18 Nov 2008, 08:33 PM
  4. Adding Links to Information Sidebox
    By ivan23 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24 Sep 2008, 12:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR