Plugin Contributions

Default Transferring files from another server

I inherited a web site to host that is currently on a different server with another hosting company. I am a web designer that has basic knowledge of php and mysql (very basic). The current site is a mess. It started out as another shopping cart and then at some point was changed to a zen cart. The structure contains several copies of the same zen cart folders and files (actually about 4 copies of the zen cart folders and files). In addition, there are redirects to other web sites and plenty of hacks. There are more than 20,000 files! Honest! Many of them have no use and effectively clutter the site. It's very difficult to determine which files are live and which are just dead weight.

My original idea (not yet knowing at the time the colossal mess) was to upload the files to the new server (different hosting company as well), and modify the configure files. I have never work with Zen Cart, but I have known about for a long time and been aware that there is a strong Zen Cart community that is very supportive.

Uploading the files to my server and modifying the configure files hasn't work for me because of all the hacks and moving of files. There are also 3 different databases in phpMyAdmin for this site. I create backup files for them and imported them into my server. I then noticed that the databases were duplicates with the same tables. I found the one that was populated with info (like settings, customer info, etc) and I am using that one.

I am trying to get this done this weekend so I may be asking some questions on the forum.

My first request is to get some feedback from some expert that may have been down the same road. What I decided to do is this: Start fresh with new Zen Cart files and then try to make some sense out to the old files to reconstruct the web site. Does anyone have any advice or warnings?

Blog Entries
    Plugin Contributions