Hybrid View

Plugin Contributions

Default Which CAPTCHA mod is best?

Hi!

First, I'm new to Zen (migrating from CRE) and this is my first time starting a thread. Please have mercy on me if I mess up the protocol.

I want to know which CAPTCHA mod would be best for me?

All I want to do is add a bit of protection for my forms (contact us, registration, tell a friend, etc) and I'd like it to work right out of the box. And I don't want to pay $20 per month.

My site: Zen Cart 1.3.8a (haven't looked at the new patch yet)

My mods:
    • Template
    • SEO urls
    • Image Handler2
    • Backup mySQL v1.3
    • Backup MySite V1.f
    • Easy populate advance
    • Admin Category/Product Images

I'll probably install one of the lightbox mods while I wait for a Zen master to advise.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!
    ~Mike

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Which CAPTCHA mod is best?

BTW, I have been this for the last two hours, thought I was going to use CAPTCHA using TTF & GD. I downloaded a copy (from zen-cart.com addon section), read thru the directions, began feeling comfortable about it... but then I decided to poke around in the forums.

If you read the forum for "CAPTCHA using TTF & GD", you will see people talking about how buggy it is and what a pain it is.

When I unzipped CAPTCHA TTF & GD, there were the following sql files:
    • install.sql
    • uninstall.sql
    • update_2_1.sql
    • update_2_2.sql
    • update_2_3.sql

The directions discussed install.sql but made no mention of what to do with the update sql files. That is what drove me back to the forum.

Not only am I new to Zen, but I am not a programmer. I am comfortable enough making minor php changes, but this confused me:

#3. Go to Admin->Tools->Install SQL Patches and install install.sql (don't use upload - use copy/paste to install sql).

How do you use "copy/paste"? And does anybody know what I'm supposed to do with all the update sql's?