Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    Okay based on this part:
    edit your upgraded english.php file to use the old CHARSET and setlocale settings, as well as edit your configure.php file to set DB_CHARSET to 'latin1'
    if I DON'T need to convert, then I need to change edit the configure.php file and the english.php file BACK to the old characterset.. Am I understanding this correctly???

    (if I am I have a followup question)
    IF I need to convert, does the upgrade process upgrade the data and tables, or do I still need to run your conversion script??? (the one that's in the free downloads section)
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    Choosing your character set is *your* job, not Zen Cart's job. The zc_install upgrade process DOES NOT change your character set. That's up to you.

    If your existing database is NOT in utf-8 then you'll need to change your Zen Cart language files and configure.php to use whatever character set you're using with your database.

    For new installs, it's best to use utf-8 because it's generally more globally compatible and most hosts use it by default now, so a new store should also use it by default. That's why the Zen Cart distribution files are set to use utf-8 by default.
    Again, if *you* can't or don't want to use utf8 for whatever reason (including because you're upgrading a store whose data is NOT already utf8) then you need to change the Zen Cart code/files/etc to NOT use utf8.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Choosing your character set is *your* job, not Zen Cart's job. The zc_install upgrade process DOES NOT change your character set. That's up to you.
    okay.. got it... I will run the database upgrade script I used before..

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    If your existing database is NOT in utf-8 then you'll need to change your Zen Cart language files and configure.php to use whatever character set you're using with your database.
    understood..

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    For new installs, it's best to use utf-8 because it's generally more globally compatible and most hosts use it by default now, so a new store should also use it by default. That's why the Zen Cart distribution files are set to use utf-8 by default.
    Again, if *you* can't or don't want to use utf8 for whatever reason (including because you're upgrading a store whose data is NOT already utf8) then you need to change the Zen Cart code/files/etc to NOT use utf8.
    understood..
    Last edited by DivaVocals; 21 Feb 2012 at 08:03 AM.
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    Hello,

    I have a problem with my Zencart 1.3.9h. I installed Zencart with UTF8 coding. The same with some people here, my Zencart could display Japanese characters correctly but in the MySQL DB, the characters show a mess. After I installed the following files, MySQL DB and Zencart shop both can display Japanese Characters correctly.

    /includes/extra_configures/my_db_charset.php
    /admin/includes/extra_configures/my_db_charset.php

    However, a new issue happens. When I want to create a new account from shop page or input product information from admin page, the character become a mess. How can I resolve the problem?

    I think I have the same problem with Nurapipi here
    http://www.zen-cart.com/showthread.p...r-v1-3-x/page2

    It seems Nurapipi resolved the problem by changing to another server, but is there any other way to resolve the issue? Because there are so many hosting service in the Internet and it is difficult to try all of them.

    Thank you.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    new mexico usa
    Posts
    27
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: ability to define DB_CHARSET ?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Create a new file for it:

    /includes/extra_configures/my_db_charset.php
    Code:
    <?php define('DB_CHARSET', 'your_charset_here');
    Do the same with: /admin/includes/extra_configures/my_db_charset.php


    NOTES:
    - This is only applicable to v1.3.9x. It will NOT work in older versions, and is not applicable to the future versions after v1.5.0 since they will be utf8 already.
    Thank you double for me too, DrByte.

    version 1.5.1

    I have been reviewing recent upgrade from 1.3.8 to 1.5.1 completed by host, and had many descriptions with ? inside black diamonds scattered on site. This conflict in Charset caused some product pages to go blank in name and description fields in admin side.
    Site now is without strange characters and admin side is ready for editing old product descriptions if needed.

 

 
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Similar Threads

  1. v154 CHARSET / DB_CHARSET: Valid combinations?
    By lat9 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Feb 2016, 02:43 PM
  2. Diamond characters and I tried defining DB_CHARSET
    By lruskauff in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14 Jan 2014, 06:23 AM
  3. Define Pages - How to define brand new page
    By hutch32804 in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31 Oct 2009, 01:39 PM
  4. Uploading Ability?
    By wildkeith in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22 Nov 2008, 04:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR