Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    234
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    OMG, you're a legend! Thank you Dr Byte!

    We've donated previously, my wife has been bugging me (just today actually) that we should donate again. I fully intended to, but now its a no brainer.

    A sincere thank you from Scott (me) and Lina my wife. We live solely on the income of our two webstores, which have both been converted to Zen Cart in the last few months.

    The product is excellent, and the support on these forums is first rate.

    Cheers,

    Scott.
    Donation made. Enjoy those donuts! :-)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    234
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    Id just like to add, I think this would be a very useful feature for Zen Cart.

    I mean, if I lived in Indonesia and registered on a webstore, and chose Rupiah as my currency, Id expect to see that the next time I came back. Id probably be surprised if the currency had reverted to the store default.

    Im sure there are lots of ramifications in adding something like this as a permanent feature, its easy for me to throw it out there.

    Another donation just made.
    Donation made. Enjoy those donuts! :-)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    234
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    Just wanted to report that it works a treat!
    Donation made. Enjoy those donuts! :-)

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    Quote Originally Posted by Scott_C View Post
    Just wanted to report that it works a treat!
    Glad to be of help
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    234
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    Hi Dr Byte, i just have one question in regard to the code you very kindly supplied.

    Is it possible to make the following code;

    PHP Code:
        $this->zoneCurrency[1] = 'AUD';
        
    $this->zoneCurrency[2] = 'USD'
    Into an IF statement something like this;

    PHP Code:
    If
    $this->zoneCurrency "1"  //Aus
    or 
    $this->zoneCurrency "3" //NZ
    {
    $this->zoneCurrency 'AUD';
    }
    else
    {
    $this->zoneCurrency 'USD'

    (Im sure the syntax is off, Im not a programmer!)

    Im trying to make use of the class file without declaring a zone id if at all possible.

    The reason being is, Id like to add about 35 countries and not have to set up zones for them. Im using the Zones shipping module, and it works great by simply listing the ISO 2 code of the country.

    Further to that, if I dont define a country zone, the user is then asked to entry their own state/province in the text field of the registration form (rather than the dropdown menu) and I dont have to define all the various states and provinces for these countries.

    Is this a feasible way to go? Or do I have to explicitly state the zone id for this code to work?

    Kind Regards,

    Scott.
    Donation made. Enjoy those donuts! :-)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    I would just create a zone definition which comprises all my AUD countries, and another for all my USD countries, and then use those numbers.
    And, when creating those zone definitions, you can simply choose Country XYZ, All Zones, from the pulldown. No need to mention all states/provinces. Individually. The All Zones does that for you.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    234
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Binding a currency to a customer's region - can it be done?

    Lol, why didnt I think of that? You mentioned a similar solution the other day to tie a payment module to more than one country.

    Arrghh..

    Thanks for the fast reply. I will put your most simple, logical and elegant solution to work right away!

    Cheers,

    Scott.
    Donation made. Enjoy those donuts! :-)

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Aug 2013, 01:45 AM
  2. Binding a payment module to more than one country zone ID
    By Scott_C in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10 May 2010, 12:33 PM
  3. Customer Quote System can it be done?
    By TheBuz in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 May 2009, 02:55 AM
  4. [Done 1.3.5] Install currency setting typo
    By pasi in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 Aug 2006, 09:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR