Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default desperate for navcattabs help

    Can someone please help me with big navigation errors on my website. I have tried posting in the add-on help discussion with no reply. I put on a mod to turn the nav cat tabs into a drop down menu. It was just a matter of adding styling to the tpl_modules_categories_tabs.php file. Since doing this the navigation is stuffed up, breadcrumbs have had to be switch off. If you browse around in a few categories, it will start not letting you go in to other categories. If you look at

    Cat A - SubCat A - Product 1, then if you want to go back and look at SubCat B, you can't! Cat A will default to Subcat A.

    PLEASE HELP! It wasn't much to edit so I can't have done much wrong, but not being an expert at this I don't know whats doing it.

    My site link is here.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    Cat A - SubCat A - Product 1, then if you want to go back and look at SubCat B, you can't! Cat A will default to Subcat A.
    What???
    I do not know how to replicate what you have stated??
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    In Firefox and IE8, I have repeated alternating subcat selections a half-dozen or more times without encountering any problems. Can you give a specific example of a sequence that fails for you? How does it fail? Does the option to select a subcat disappear?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    okay, this is a fault I get every time. On the menu I pick this sequence: "feeding", "bottles" "nuk", and then click on any product there. Then go back up to the menu and choose "feeding", "bottles", and instead of taking you back to bottles, it goes straight to "nuk". You can't go and choose a different category under bottles. Whichever brand you choose under bottles, it will default to that anytime after that you try to go to bottles.

    Thats a quick error. I STILL haven't figured it out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    20,024
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    Everything works OK up to the product info page display. As you said, when you go back to the navigation and click the subcat again, it just appends the subcat id to whatever is there :

    Feeding > Bottles and Cups > Nuk > Nuk 125ml bottle is

    cpath=27_31_34&products_id=98

    When you click from there on Bottles and Cups, instead of the correct cpath=27_31, it shows 27_31_34_31

    I would guess some error in the code of that mod when handling ids.

    If you activate the Categories sidebox does it work right there ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    Hi, I have tested it before by turning the nav cat tabs bar off, and just using the categories side box, and it goes fine. Its just the nav cat tabs bar I'm having the problem with. I could post the code here if anyone is better at coding than me (I'm useless)

    Otherwise my only other solution is to put my own nav bar in there. I have one using html and javascript, it is on the main part of my website here, but not in the shopping cart as I was hoping to use the nav cat tabs bar to the same effect. Only trouble with that is, I don't know exactly where to put the table (html) and the javascript in the zen files.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,571
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    Note the errors as shown in RED.

    <php echo zen_ez_pages_link(ndex.php?main_page=contact_us); ?>
    - need to fix or remove

    <!--eof-header ezpage links-->

    <!--bof-optional categories tabs navigation display-->

    <style type="text/css">
    - cannot have Style code within your Body, must be within the Header.


    href="http://lefty.hosts.net.nz/~admin134/estore/index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=65&amp;zenid=pq5j1hfkdaj903tbaiovvj7532">Fitted Nappies</a></li><br /><li>

    - you cannot hard code a 'zenid' into any URL
    - you cannot use a <br /> inbetween li code


    There are other errors as well but fixing the above should help to clear up your problems.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    I thought I had removed that first one but must have backed up from an old file. Thats gone now.

    The <style type="text/css"> in the mod is in the tpl_nav_cat_tabs file, to put that in the header should I put it in the styleheet instead?

    I have not hardcoded any zen id into the links deliberately, it should be calling on the categories, I haven't coded it at all so I don't know why it would have done that.

    This is what code is in the tpl_nav_cat_tabs.php (sorry to post code...

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    if (CATEGORIES_TABS_STATUS == '1'
    {
        echo 
    '<div id="navCatTabsWrapper">';
        echo 
    '<div id="navCatTabs">';
        echo 
    '<div id="navCatTabsDropdown">';
        echo 
    '<ul>';

        
    $categories_tab_query "SELECT c.categories_id, cd.categories_name FROM ".TABLE_CATEGORIES." c, ".TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION " cd WHERE c.categories_id=cd.categories_id AND c.parent_id= '0' AND cd.language_id='" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "' AND c.categories_status='1' ORDER BY c.sort_order, cd.categories_name;";
        
    $categories_tab $db->Execute($categories_tab_query);

        while (!
    $categories_tab->EOF
        {
        
    // currently selected category
            
    echo '<li>';
            echo 
    '<a class="category-top" href="'.zen_href_link(FILENAME_DEFAULT,'cPath=' . (int)$categories_tab->fields['categories_id']).'">'
            if((int)
    $cPath == $categories_tab->fields['categories_id']) 
             echo 
    '<span class="category-subs-selected">'.$categories_tab->fields['categories_name'].'</span>';
            else 
             echo 
    $categories_tab->fields['categories_name'];

            echo 
    '</a>';
            
    $subcategories_tab_query="SELECT c.categories_id, cd.categories_name FROM ".TABLE_CATEGORIES." c, ".TABLE_CATEGORIES_DESCRIPTION " cd WHERE c.categories_id=cd.categories_id AND c.parent_id= '".(int)$categories_tab->fields['categories_id']."' AND cd.language_id='" . (int)$_SESSION['languages_id'] . "' AND c.categories_status='1' ORDER BY c.sort_order, cd.categories_name;";
            
    $subcategories_tab=$db->Execute($subcategories_tab_query);
            if(
    $subcategories_tab->RecordCount()>0)
            {
                echo 
    '<ul>';
                while (!
    $subcategories_tab->EOF
                {
                    
    $cPath_new=zen_get_path($subcategories_tab->fields['categories_id']);
                    
    $cPath_new=str_replace('=0_''='$cPath_new);
                    echo 
    '<li>'.'<a href="' zen_href_link(FILENAME_DEFAULT$cPath_new) . '">'.$subcategories_tab->fields['categories_name'].'</a></li><br />';
                    
    $subcategories_tab->MoveNext();
                }
                echo 
    '</ul>';
            }
            
    $products_tab_query="SELECT p.`products_id`, pd.`products_name`, pd.`language_id` FROM ".TABLE_PRODUCTS." p, ".TABLE_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION." pd WHERE p.`master_categories_id`='".(int)$categories_tab->fields['categories_id']."' AND p.`products_id`=pd.`products_id` AND pd.`language_id`='".(int)$_SESSION['languages_id']."' ORDER BY p.`products_sort_order`;";
            
    $products_tab=$db->Execute($products_tab_query);
            if(
    $products_tab->RecordCount()>0)
            {
                echo 
    '<ul>';
                while (!
    $products_tab->EOF
                {    
                    
    $cPath_new=zen_get_path($categories->fields['categories_id']);
                    
    $cPath_new=str_replace('=0_''='$cPath_new);
                    echo 
    '<li>'.'<a href="'.zen_href_link(zen_get_info_page($products_tab->fields['products_id']),$cPath_new'&products_id=' $products_tab->fields['products_id']) . '">'.$products_tab->fields['products_name'].'</a></li><br />';
                    
    $products_tab->MoveNext();
                }
                echo 
    '</ul>';
            }
            echo 
    '</li>';
            
    $categories_tab->MoveNext();
        }
        echo 
    '</ul>';
        echo 
    '</div>';
        echo 
    '</div>';
        echo 
    '</div>';
    }
    ?>
    Thanks for having a look.
    Last edited by 1kell; 14 Jun 2010 at 05:42 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,571
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    Putting the CSS code into a stylesheet would be good.

    Your 'tpl_nav_cat_tabs.php' file shows '</a></li><br />' is used on two separate lines.

    Also, the zenid only appears to stay if I browse the site with Javascript turned off; that's not right. The zenid is not attached by any JS methods.

    What are your settings in Admin > Configuration > Sessions - you don't need to provide the Session Directory path, just the other info.


    Finally, why are you using "http://lefty.hosts.net.nz/~admin134/" for your URL? Using a "~" is very insecure and will need to be changed at some point. For your benefit and your site Visitors, best to start using your Domain name and get a Dedicated SSL Cert, ASAP.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    151
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: desperate for navcattabs help

    I have a SSL just have not installed it yet.

    The settings you asked about is
    Cookie Domain - True
    Force Cookie Use - False
    Check SSL Session ID - False
    Check User Agent - False
    Check IP Address - False
    Prevent Spider Sessions - True
    Recreate Session - True
    IP to Host Conversion Status - true

    "Your 'tpl_nav_cat_tabs.php' file shows '</a></li><br />' is used on two separate lines."

    I didn't write this code, I gather that is to force a break, would you delete it or use <br class="clearBoth" /> instead?

    I pasted the style code into the stylesheet and it didn't have the same look at all, but I'll give it another shot.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problems...Desperate for help
    By spuryou in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29 Jun 2011, 09:11 PM
  2. Desperate for help on DOB
    By soyabeane in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Jun 2009, 07:58 AM
  3. desperate for download help -- stopping at 99%
    By dora in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5 Sep 2007, 01:42 AM
  4. Desperate for help :-(
    By hamid84 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7 Aug 2007, 09:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR