Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    I don't know how or why it's different now but running winmerge on the two files I now get 19 items including 12 folders with probably a hundred or so items inside each and 7 files like index.php, install.txt, ipn_main_handler.php etc etc that round out the main list. What do I do with that?


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    16,074
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    Hire someone to do the upgrade,
    it will actually cost you more in lost time then it will for an upgrade
    Zen cart PCI compliant Hosting

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    102
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    I am experiencing the same thing.

    When using Winmerge I have it eliminating identical file but there are a whole bunch of files that are showing up as different when they are not. They appear to be core files that I have never touched but I can't feel comfortable with that.

    Fortunately I was pretty good about using the override but would like to know why identical files are showing up as different.

    I get to this part of the upgrade file and get all crazy because I have a whole lot of identical files to look at. What do I do?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    I tried this exact same approach, using winmerge to compare the stock 1.3.8a to my modified one. 790 files are different, there's no way in the world I altered that many files. What am I doing wrong?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    503
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    It is most likely a spacing issue.

    I experienced the same thing and when I went to look at the files the difference was in the spacing/tabs for the code.

    Rick

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    Quote Originally Posted by disciple View Post
    It is most likely a spacing issue.

    I experienced the same thing and when I went to look at the files the difference was in the spacing/tabs for the code.

    Rick
    That makes sense. I suppose there's no way I can come up with a way to filter that out in winmerge.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: When using Winmerge it appears every file shows up as different

    For anyone reading this, this post(by harry mc) solved the problem for me.
    https://superuser.com/questions/1742...-file-contents

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. database shows different versions when exported then imported
    By kneel999 in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 Aug 2011, 06:56 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17 Nov 2010, 03:08 AM
  3. Upgrade 1.3.0.2 to 1.3.6 - Why winmerge when using override system?
    By Steve G. in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18 Nov 2006, 04:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR