Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    897
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    Hi All,

    I've been working on a fresh install of ZC for weeks now, still not live yet. Yesterday I upgraded to 139d.

    It took me a while to figure out how to sort my products by price (low to high), longer to realize I needed to go to Admin> Tools> Store Manager and run the Update ALL Products Price Sorter.

    But now my site is correctly sorting by price.

    MY QUESTION:

    Can I cause my Default Sort Order (price low to high, described above) to be superseded by a manually added Sort Order # assigned directly to a product?

    For example, under my category Bassinets:
    Listing 1. Mattress Pad - $30 (Sort Order = 40)
    Listing 2. Basket - $80 (Sort Order = 50)
    Listing 3. Plain Bassinet - $700 (Sort Order = 0)
    Listing 4. Bassinet w/ Drawer - $800 (Sort Order = 0)
    Listing 5. Bassinet w/ Drawer & Cabinet - $900 (Sort Order = 0)

    This is correctly sorted by the Default I created. However, in this particular instance I want the Bassinets to appear first, accessories last. So I went into the Pad and Basket products and manually added Sort Order #s of 40 and 50 (all other products seem to have defaulted to 0).

    It was my hope that doing this would override the price default and send the accessories to the bottom... but it did not!

    I updated ALL Products Price Sorter. And I cleared my cache and restarted my browser.

    Didn't work!

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    This is correctly sorted by the Default I created. However, in this particular instance I want the Bassinets to appear first, accessories last. So I went into the Pad and Basket products and manually added Sort Order #s of 40 and 50 (all other products seem to have defaulted to 0).
    Depending on if this is to be different than all the rest???
    This is what is provided by default without custom codeing

    admin > config > layout settings > Categories/Products Display Sort Order

    Code:
    Categories/Products Display Sort Order
    Categories/Products Display Sort Order
    0= Categories/Products Sort Order/Name
    1= Categories/Products Name
    2= Products Model
    3= Products Qty+, Products Name
    4= Products Qty-, Products Name
    5= Products Price+, Products Name
    6= Products Price-, Products Name
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    897
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    Hi Kobra,

    Thanks for the reply. My site is set to:
    #6 = Products Price-, Products Name

    What I am asking is:
    Why does manually inserting a SORT ORDER NUMBER into the product itself NOT override the #6 choice above?

    In other words, for thousands of my products, choice #6 above is just fine. But occasionally I wish to MANUALLY assert control over the way things are sorted.

    How hard would it be to add a choice to that list:
    #7 = SORT ORDER #, Products Price-, Products Name

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    Quote Originally Posted by Feznizzle
    How hard would it be to add a choice to that list:
    #7 = SORT ORDER #, Products Price-, Products Name
    Sans the price - that is what selection "0" does
    Code:
    0= Categories/Products Sort Order/Name
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    Sans the price - that is what selection "0" does
    Code:
    0= Categories/Products Sort Order/Name
    That doesn't work.......read what Feznizzle wants. A standard default sort order of price (low to high) which would be code 5 in admin > config > layout settings > Categories/Products Display Sort Order BUT an OVERRIDE for a product(s) to be placed in a different order detirmined by the products sort order. Exactly as he stated:

    SORT ORDER, Products Price,

    unless you can answer a problem correctly don't bother answering at all...it only leads to more confusion.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    You could customize the Sort Order method used in the:
    /includes/index_filters/default_filter.php

    Look for the line:
    Code:
    // if set to nothing use products_sort_order and PRODUCTS_LIST_NAME is off
    and you can alter each of the case statements below it include:
    p.products_sort_order

    and see if that doesn't help the display of your products ...

    Note: this is used also for searches and can produce some odd displays on those ...

    Note: backup the original file before making changes, in case you goober it all up ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    897
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Sort Order - Can I prioritize?

    Hi!

    Thanks to all for the feedback.

    I got forced into taking a break shortly after I posted the question, plan to resume full force this weekend. I will fiddle with this issue and, worst come to worst, will try Ajeh suggestion. Was hoping not to have to play with code!

    Anyway, I will post the answer as soon as I figure it out.

    Thanks,
    Mike

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v139h Can product sort order be manipulated beyond whole digits
    By shags38 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22 Oct 2014, 05:44 AM
  2. v151 Product Sort within Category - having problems changing the default sort order
    By Don Wagner in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21 Oct 2012, 03:03 AM
  3. Product Sort Order only sorts Alphabetically, not by the order assigned.
    By webooks in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12 Nov 2009, 05:19 PM
  4. Product sort order dropdown menu on product listing page
    By dealbyethan.com in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28 Dec 2007, 09:06 PM
  5. Can you specify sort order with EP?
    By yellowdaises in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15 Aug 2007, 04:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR