Plugin Contributions

Default Charset settings works for template content but not for product descriptions.

I am new to ZenCart and relatively new to php/MySQL. I have installed ZenCart ( www.sunriseledlight.com/shop ) with English, Norwegian, German and Spanish languages. My ZenCart version is 1.3.9d, and I am using the template ZenCartJquery Silver. The MySQL collation is UTF8_general_ci and I have been studying for two days now without finding any solution to my problem.

I also have to say that I am keeping one "Development" server at home, as well as one "production" server at a public host, so that I have been able to do a lot of trial and error in my localhost environment. Ok, Here we go:

The original installation was with english language, and in iso8859-1 which in plain text is called latin1, I have later come to understand. This was problem free. I configured the whole shop with categories, products, the whole lot, before I started installing more language packs. Norwegian language pack was installed, no problem. I could translate the text from english to Norwegian, and all the special characters worked. But then I got to Spanish and German, and that really ruined the whole day... The menus, the text around the buttons, the headline text in the boxes all translated perfectly to all the accented signs, no problems there. But the text that I entered, like product descriptions and the like, turned to strange unreadable signs. So I started to check for possible solutions.