Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,681
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default [Done v1.3.9e] With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    In 1.3.8, the label "Sales Tax" would be used because no actual tax applied, i.e.

    Sales Tax: $0.00

    In 1.3.9d, a tax which does not apply is displayed:

    FL TAX 7.0%: $0.00

    I reviewed a few files and didn't see an obvious root cause. A patch would be to use TEXT_UNKNOWN_TAX_RATE in ot_tax.php if value is 0.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Hmm

    I tested this locally and if the address of the customer is 'in scope' for the tax zones set up in the store then you are correct, that the store will show the tax description of an applicable zone.

    However if the customers address is not in scope, then a generic 'Sales Tax' label is shown.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,681
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    I will cook up a simple test case with a default install ASAP to show this behavior.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Hi,

    Any updates on this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,681
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Installed 139b, created fresh database.
    Updated to 139d.
    Tax applies to FL only at 7%.
    Turn on Sales Tax Display Status 1 in Admin
    Check out with a Georgia address.
    Page 2 shows FL Tax 7.0%: $0.00

    This should say "Sales Tax: $0.00" - no?
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Hi,

    You are correct :)

    There are a couple of cases where the code still fails to format the tax description correctly

    can you try this updated code for ot_tax.php


    PHP Code:
        function process() {
          global 
    $order$currencies;

          
    reset($order->info['tax_groups']);
          
    $taxDescription '';
          
    $taxValue 0;
          if (
    STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1)
          {
            
    $result zen_get_all_tax_descriptions();
            if (
    count($result) > 0)
            {
              foreach (
    $result as $description)
              {
                if (!isset(
    $order->info['tax_groups'][$description]))
                {
                  
    $order->info['tax_groups'][$description] = 0;
                }
              }
            }
          }
          if (
    count($order->info['tax_groups']) > && isset($order->info['tax_groups'][0])) unset($order->info['tax_groups'][0]);
          while (list(
    $key$value) = each($order->info['tax_groups'])) {
            if (
    SHOW_SPLIT_TAX_CHECKOUT == 'true')
            {
              if (
    $value or ($value == && STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == )) {
                
    $this->output[] = array('title' => ((is_numeric($key) && $key == 0) ? TEXT_UNKNOWN_TAX_RATE :  $key) . ':',
                                        
    'text' => $currencies->format($valuetrue$order->info['currency'], $order->info['currency_value']),
                                        
    'value' => $value);
              }
            } else
            {
              if (
    $value || ($value == && STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1))
              {
                
    $taxDescription .= ((is_numeric($key) && $key == 0) ? TEXT_UNKNOWN_TAX_RATE :  $key) . ' + ';
                
    $taxValue += $value;
              }
            }
          }
          if (
    SHOW_SPLIT_TAX_CHECKOUT != 'true' && ($taxValue or STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1))
          {
            
    $this->output[] = array(
                            
    'title' => substr($taxDescriptionstrlen($taxDescription)-3) . ':' ,
                            
    'text' => $currencies->format($taxValuetrue$order->info['currency'], $order->info['currency_value']) ,
                            
    'value' => $taxValue);
          }
        } 

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,681
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Nope. Still shows FL Tax.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    k,

    I think the problem was that I'm testing slightly differently to you, in that I was changing the primary address via the My Account section. This was masking the fact that the logic to choose the tax descriptions was only relying on the primary address, so changes made to the tax address (either by adding a new address or selecting a non primary address, would not be recognised)

    So with fingers crossed, can you try this

    PHP Code:
        function process() {
          global 
    $order$currencies;

          
    reset($order->info['tax_groups']);
          
    $taxDescription '';
          
    $taxValue 0;
          if (
    STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1)
          {
            
    $taxAddress zen_get_tax_locations();
            
    $result zen_get_all_tax_descriptions($taxAddress['country_id'], $taxAddress['zone_id']);
            if (
    count($result) > 0)
            {
              foreach (
    $result as $description)
              {
                if (!isset(
    $order->info['tax_groups'][$description]))
                {
                  
    $order->info['tax_groups'][$description] = 0;
                }
              }
            }
          }
          if (
    count($order->info['tax_groups']) > && isset($order->info['tax_groups'][0])) unset($order->info['tax_groups'][0]);
          while (list(
    $key$value) = each($order->info['tax_groups'])) {
            if (
    SHOW_SPLIT_TAX_CHECKOUT == 'true')
            {
              if (
    $value or ($value == && STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == )) {
                
    $this->output[] = array('title' => ((is_numeric($key) && $key == 0) ? TEXT_UNKNOWN_TAX_RATE :  $key) . ':',
                                        
    'text' => $currencies->format($valuetrue$order->info['currency'], $order->info['currency_value']),
                                        
    'value' => $value);
              }
            } else
            {
              if (
    $value || ($value == && STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1))
              {
                
    $taxDescription .= ((is_numeric($key) && $key == 0) ? TEXT_UNKNOWN_TAX_RATE :  $key) . ' + ';
                
    $taxValue += $value;
              }
            }
          }
          if (
    SHOW_SPLIT_TAX_CHECKOUT != 'true' && ($taxValue or STORE_TAX_DISPLAY_STATUS == 1))
          {
            
    $this->output[] = array(
                            
    'title' => substr($taxDescriptionstrlen($taxDescription)-3) . ':' ,
                            
    'text' => $currencies->format($taxValuetrue$order->info['currency'], $order->info['currency_value']) ,
                            
    'value' => $taxValue);
          }
        } 

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,681
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    Same issue.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: With Sales Tax Display Status=1, $0 Sales tax has wrong label

    k,

    any possibility of a screenshot of checkout_confirmation showing the problem

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16 Aug 2012, 08:11 AM
  2. New York State Sales Tax by Zip Full Database for Local Sales Tax Mod 2011
    By SCHNiKEN in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11 Apr 2011, 04:51 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18 Jan 2009, 07:13 AM
  4. Sales Tax Label Not Showing
    By makulit in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16 Sep 2008, 04:15 PM
  5. Sales Tax-Order for $50 or less don't pay sales Tax
    By jhobson in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4 Sep 2008, 05:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR