Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 224
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,566
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    This mod provides three drop-down select boxes which are used to select products from subcat01 - subcat02 - subcat03 such as Make-Model-Year.

    The second and third drop-down are populated dynamically (using jquery) as a result of the choice made in the previous box.

    As supplied in this package, the drop drown is integrated into the header.

    Why use this mod?

    To replace a long static list in a sidebox.This mod was written for my site by a commercial developer as no equivalent was available as a community contribution.

    This version 0.9 is offered to help those who wish to implement something similar. Since it is working for me I have not had to bugfix it and so I have no idea how it works and so cannot offer any support other than moral.

    It is offered to the community "as is" in the hope that others pick it up and iron-out any non-Zen-standard-practices that may lurk within.

    As it is, it works when dropped into a classic-copy vanilla 139e site.

    Download at: http://www.zen-cart.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=1141

    regards
    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    28
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    AWESOME!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    25
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    This add-on looks great, but is it possible to have this in a sidebox?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,566
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    from another thread (http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showth...60761&page=2):
    I'm having issues getting it to work in the way I need and I think it is because I'm looking for it to utilize the current category location instead of defining the category #, but it's a step in the right direction.

    Just to confirm in your setup, do you have Make options setup as you top level categories, Models setup as subcategories of Make, and Year setup as a subcategory of Models? Is there a chance you can post a link the the site it is used on?
    My Top-level categories are:
    1 - Manufacturers
    2 - Products
    3 - Your Bike

    All products are defined (master cats) in Manufacturers as per the manufacturers product families and then linked to the Products and Your Bike categories.

    Your Bike subcats are Bike Manufacturers (Aprilia, Benelli etc) then in each one specific models (RSV Mille, Pegaso etc..) then in each model a subcat for a specific year or range of years.

    So to answer the question, the makes are the second level category.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    84
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    torvista, thanks again for a great contribution. melirlbr, this can be added to just about anyplace you want, just add the modified line in the tpl_header.php, between <!--BOF Product Finder--> and <!--EOF Product Finder--> to the relevant php file you want it added to, then adjust the CSS file to your needs.

    I'm having issues with this add on personally though, and I've yet to figure out the cause. I'm adding the code to tpl_index_categories, as I prefer it be on the category page above the category description. Because the first pulldown is a second level category I wanted it to use $parent_id = $current_category_id instead of defining the category ID.

    In any case, I've tried it in both the header and in the category page, both with and without defining the category ID, have my categories and test product added, yet the 2nd pulldown will not pull data.

    I've verified all files are uploaded, but I am stumped. With regards to the readme, there is a reference to a problem and a fix with the .htaccess file, do you know how the add-on interacts when this issue happens? I'm using multi-site module so that may have something to do with it, though the page I'm testing on is the primary domain with all redirected to www.

    Page testing, www.printdealz.com
    Test product under postcards, cardstock, 14pt
    Brian - Connecticut, US --- Using Zen 1.3.9g - Modified Classic Template
    Currently developing: http://www.printdealz.com
    Other Zen Pages: http://www.wholesale4realtors.com 1.3.8a

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,566
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    torvista, thanks again for a great contribution.
    well its not so great if it doesn't work!!

    Have you tried it on a fresh 139 test site?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    84
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    It is throwing a script error from the jscript, so that is most likely the issue, and yes it does work fine with a fresh install. I have a developer starting working on my needs on Thursday, so in a few weeks I should have an addition to this contribution.

    The developer is adding a few tweaks, such as the 2nd pulldown will become visible following the 1st pulldown choice, 3rd after 2nd is chosen, and so on... the pulldowns will not be set to 3 levels and will stop if no further sub-categories exist, and the page itself will display the new sub-category's description without a page reload so you can add details about the next step of options, and hopefully at the last step it will also wrap the product list and product detail page dynamically as well.
    Brian - Connecticut, US --- Using Zen 1.3.9g - Modified Classic Template
    Currently developing: http://www.printdealz.com
    Other Zen Pages: http://www.wholesale4realtors.com 1.3.8a

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,566
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default correction to jscript_model_year.js

    Version 0.9 in the downloads section requires a minor correction in the jscript_model_year.js file to display the breadcrumb elements correctly on the results page.

    find around line 13
    var cPath1=$("#select_model").val();
    var cPath2=$("#cPath").val();
    change to
    var cPath1=$("#cPath").val();
    var cPath2=$("#select_model").val();

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    22
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Hello .... Newbie here

    I have been developing a ecommerce site using Oscommerce but decided to try Zencart. So far it has been much easier to install and setup.

    I do have a problem though and I have searched and looked but have not found my answer so I will post it here because it relates to the Product Search add on.

    I have it installed but I have a question about the master category number that I need to change on line 56 of the product finder.php. Where do I find it. Is it the number that appears adjacent to the category folder after the category has been added.?

    jerr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,566
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Is it the number that appears adjacent to the category folder after the category has been added.?
    Yes, also known as the cPath - look a the the address of a product page and you see how it is built up from category paths and the product id, eg:
    cPath=1_4_30&products_id=79
    where 1 is the top category, 4 and 30 subcats and 79 the product number.

 

 
Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Product Quantities as Drop Downs?
    By ehdesign in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 Jun 2011, 06:21 PM
  2. 2 questions on tab category drop downs
    By deemurphy in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14 Apr 2010, 02:29 PM
  3. I'm new ~ Trying to enter product with several drop downs
    By skirch in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Mar 2009, 01:24 AM
  4. Category Heading - can't remove w/drop downs
    By Terry111 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20 Sep 2008, 09:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR