Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 224
  1. #101
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    364
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Quote Originally Posted by mikestaps View Post
    To make sure the category structure is correct I made some notes here for you....

    MASTER CATEGORY

    FIRST CHOICE DROP DOWN (inside the master category "folder") - [GM, FORD, MOPAR]
    SECOND CHOICE ARE ACTUALLY JUST MODELS SO SAY WE PICKED GM

    THEN GM WOULD HAVE UNDERNEATH IT

    (inside the GM "folder") NOVA, CHEVELLE, ETC.

    THEN THE THIRD CHOICE, SAY WE PICKED NOVA

    THE THIRD CHOICE WOULD HAVE

    (inside the NOVA "folder") ENGINES, TIRES, AND WHEELS
    AND WHEN YOU PICKED SAY ENGINES, THEN THE PARTS WOULD SHOW UP ON THE MIDDLE SCREEN.

    PRODUCTS WOULD THEN BE LOCATED, BY LINKING, IN THE ENGINES, TIRES, AND WHEELS FOLDER/CATEGORY.
    Does it matter how deep you go with the sub categories cause this is what we have

    MASTER
    THEN THREE CHOICES FOR THE FIRST DROP DOWN
    THEN YOUR CAR CHOICES
    THEN YOUR PARTS CHOICES
    THEN YOUR ACTUAL PRODUCTS.

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    364
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    screw it. just doesn't work for me. too bad. thanks anyways.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    I have this multiple category drop-downs added in my site.
    When the client select the third dropdown , i want to bring him to one page for selected model with a list attached as shown.
    Please someone help me if it possible.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    no one can find a solution?

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    helooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    help me please!

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    84
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    That would require custom coding. It is possible with zencart (almost anything is) but really what you want sounds more like writing a entire ajax form module.
    Brian - Connecticut, US --- Using Zen 1.3.9g - Modified Classic Template
    Currently developing: http://www.printdealz.com
    Other Zen Pages: http://www.wholesale4realtors.com 1.3.8a

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Bluetooth,

    Thank you for posting instructions on how to decrease the drop-downs to two. I followed it step by step and it worked! Only one minor glitch in the code.

    This

    window.location=(baseDirectory+"index.php?main_page=index&cPath="+cPath1+"_"+cPa th3);

    Should be this

    window.location=(baseDirectory+"index.php?main_page=index&cPath="+cPath1+"_"+cPa th2);

    Thanks again!

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Fran
    Posts
    382
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Can anybody help me with my error? This module works with JS turned off, but with it turned on I'm getting the following error in firebug:

    $ is not defined
    $(document).ready(function(){

    I do see this code rendering on the page:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript"><!--
    $(document).ready(function(){
    $("#cPath").change(modelList);
    $("#select_model").change(yearList);
    //$("#select_year").focus();
    $("#select_year").change(function()
    {
    var baseDirectory=document.getElementById("basemodulepath").value;
    var cPath1=$("#cPath").val();
    var cPath2=$("#select_model").val();
    var cPath3=$("#select_year").val();
    window.location=(baseDirectory+"index.php?main_page=index&cPath="+cPath1+"_"+cPath2+"_"+cPath3);
    }
    );
    });
    var modelList=function model_list(){
    var baseDirectory=document.getElementById("basemodulepath").value;
    var cPath=document.getElementById("cPath").value;
    $.ajax({
    type: 'POST',
    url:baseDirectory+"modellist.php",
    data:"cPath="+cPath+"&my=1",
    success: function(data){
    // alert(data);
    if(data!=""){
    arrayVar=new Array();
    arrayVar=data.split("|");
    arrayVarId=new Array();
    arrayVarId=arrayVar[0].split("^");
    arrayVarName=new Array();
    arrayVarName=arrayVar[1].split("^");
    $('#select_model').html("");
    $('#select_model').append("<option value=''>Please Select<\/option>");
    for(i=1;i<arrayVarId.length-1;i++)
    {
    $('#select_model').append($("<option><\/option>").attr("value",arrayVarId[i]).text(arrayVarName[i]));
    }
    }
    }
    });
    };
    var yearList=function year_list(){
    var baseDirectory=document.getElementById("basemodulepath").value;
    var cPath=document.getElementById("select_model").value;
    $.ajax({
    type: 'POST',
    url:baseDirectory+"modellist.php",
    data:"cPath="+cPath+"&my=2",
    success: function(data){
    if(data!=""){
    arrayVar=new Array();
    arrayVar=data.split("|");
    arrayVarId=new Array();
    arrayVarId=arrayVar[0].split("^");
    arrayVarName=new Array();
    arrayVarName=arrayVar[1].split("^");
    $('#select_year').html("");
    $('#select_year').append("<option value=''>Please Select<\/option>");
    for(i=1;i<arrayVarId.length-1;i++)
    {
    $('#select_year').append($("<option><\/option>").attr("value",arrayVarId[i]).text(arrayVarName[i]));
    }
    }
    }
    });
    };
    //--></script>
    I'm not a Javascript pro, but I would really appreciate any insight!

    Kind regards,

    Gautama

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    166
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    Hello torvista,

    This is one module I feel could solve my problem

    On my website, http://204.93.193.150/~bhavikac/ is a city wise deals site.

    The visitor first chooses the city he is in (Which he does from a single drop down menu) in the header. He is then taken to the specific page for that city where he should see the sub categories (gifts for her, gifts for him, anniversary gifts etc) available in that city. Under the sub categories, he will see the products.

    Can I use the multi category drop down with some modifications for this website? I mean instead of having 3 drop downs, the 2nd drop down menu (based on the category chosen) is shown as a horizontal menu in the header bar.

    Any help is welcome.







    Quote Originally Posted by torvista View Post
    This mod provides three drop-down select boxes which are used to select products from subcat01 - subcat02 - subcat03 such as Make-Model-Year.

    The second and third drop-down are populated dynamically (using jquery) as a result of the choice made in the previous box.

    As supplied in this package, the drop drown is integrated into the header.

    Why use this mod?

    To replace a long static list in a sidebox.This mod was written for my site by a commercial developer as no equivalent was available as a community contribution.

    This version 0.9 is offered to help those who wish to implement something similar. Since it is working for me I have not had to bugfix it and so I have no idea how it works and so cannot offer any support other than moral.

    It is offered to the community "as is" in the hope that others pick it up and iron-out any non-Zen-standard-practices that may lurk within.

    As it is, it works when dropped into a classic-copy vanilla 139e site.

    I'll post again when it is available for download,
    regards
    Steve
    http://www.raunharman.com
    http://www.raunharman.net
    Website Development, E-Book Solutions & Handicraft Exports

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Hartland, MI
    Posts
    282
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Product Finder: multiple category drop-downs

    willie bee -
    i think I may have found your issue.... Do you have any SEO mods installed?
    I installed the ceon SEO mod and the product finder no longer works... I'm going to install some of the other SEO mods and see if the issue is duplicated.

 

 
Page 11 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Product Quantities as Drop Downs?
    By ehdesign in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 Jun 2011, 06:21 PM
  2. 2 questions on tab category drop downs
    By deemurphy in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14 Apr 2010, 02:29 PM
  3. I'm new ~ Trying to enter product with several drop downs
    By skirch in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Mar 2009, 01:24 AM
  4. Category Heading - can't remove w/drop downs
    By Terry111 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20 Sep 2008, 09:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR