Default 1.3.9d "There was a security error when trying to login"

I've been using ZenCart for almost two years now without problems--pretty impressive considering that my understanding of server-side databases and things of a PHP nature is very scant. Anyway, I have just recently started receiving the "There was a security error when trying to login" message in the admin area. The customer end of the site seems unaffected, and I've gotten an order recently (which I received and filled through email only).

The big puzzler, is that I haven't specifically done much with ZenCart over the last couple of days. I will list the two major things that have been done to my site, in hopes that it may shed light on the cause.

1. Restored MySQL databases from backup. I was doing some work on another part of my site, and managed to nuke the database. So, I restored all of the databases from backup.

2. Upgraded PHP from 5.2.12 to 5.2.13. Did this through my hosting company's site manager. In talking with my hosting company's support, this is supposed to have been rolled back to 5.2.12 although it still shows up as 5.2.13 in the site manager.

One major gap in my information, is that I haven't done anything with admin since before these two changes took place. I tried restoring the database to an even earlier backup (no dice), but have restored the more recent version to preserve the order and customer information that I've gotten since then. The one thing I'm not entirely sure about is the PHP version--aside from the site manager, I'm not sure where else I can check the version number. Either way, it's probably good to stay with the newer release and fix ZenCart around it--unless there is a specific reason not to.