Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    118
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Hi guys, I really screwed up...

    When I setup my product attributes (dropdown menu),
    I overlooked the "Used For Display Purposes Only" feature,
    and now people are choosing the wrong dropdown options!

    Unfortunately, ZenCart seems to require this particular setting be configured manually, per product...
    but I have too many products to do this, one at a time.

    Is there a way I can edit this directly in the database, to speed up the process?

    I'm semi-familiar with PHPMyAdmin...
    I'm just curious if this would be a faster method, or if there's any other options?

    I have to fix this asap!
    Thanks for any tips.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    I believe that the paid/commercial version of easy populate will handle that attribute entry
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Set 1 Product correctly in the Admin to have the Display Only set right ...

    Look in phpMyAdmin at the table:
    products_attributes

    Search for that products_id

    What are the settings for:
    options_id
    options_values_id

    where the
    attributes_display_only

    is set to 1

    Do ALL of your Products need this particular Option Name/Option Value combo set to 1?
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    118
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Thank you both for the tips...

    I have EP Pro, but unfortunately the 'Attributes' aspect is very limited... (http://www.zencartbuilder.com/forums...ght=attributes)
    that was a good idea tho Kobra, it hadn't occurred to me!

    I managed to figure out what I needed in PHPMyAdmin (thank you Ajeh for pointing the direction)...
    I'm not confident enough with writing SQL, so I just did it manually.

    It was short work with Firefox' search/highlight feature and some "Page Down / 1" clicks...
    not the most efficient, I know... but only took about 20 minutes.

    Thanks again for the focus, both of you... problem solved!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Thanks for the update that you were able to fix this ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Far South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    436
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Ajeh, I find I have this problem too, across two sites.
    I set up one product correctly then located it in products_attributes table. The options_id and options_values_id where the
    attributes_display_only is set to 1 (twice) are 1 and 43, and 2 and 44. What do I do now? ALL of my products need this particular Option Name/Option Value combo set to 1. Jen

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Backup your database ...

    Then, just for the heck of it, backup your products_attributes table separately to another filename ...

    In theory ...

    to change all Attributes with options_id 1 and options_values_id 43 to have the attributes_display_only set to 1 use:
    Code:
    UPDATE products_attributes SET attributes_display_only = 1 WHERE options_id = 1 and options_values_id = 43;
    to change all Attributes with options_id 2 and options_values_id 44 to have the attributes_display_only set to 1 use:
    Code:
    UPDATE products_attributes SET attributes_display_only = 1 WHERE options_id = 2 and options_values_id = 44;
    See if that works for you ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Far South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    436
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Woohoo!!! Solved. Now I'll do the other site. Thank you, that really coulda been a headache.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Remember us fondly when you are rich and famous ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Far South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    436
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bulk Edit: Used For Display Purposes Only

    Ha ... in this profession?
    But I have funded you guys a few coffees in the past.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Bulk Edit - Used for Display purposes only
    By gacollege in forum General Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27 Nov 2012, 06:01 PM
  2. For testing purposes
    By g_force in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29 Mar 2010, 08:02 PM
  3. Edit quantity in bulk?
    By hales in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15 Jan 2010, 01:25 PM
  4. Bulk edit to Call for Price
    By stevensmedia in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11 Jul 2008, 03:15 PM
  5. Code for Tracking Purposes
    By smartmomma in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17 Oct 2006, 10:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR