Plugin Contributions

Default Install: Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '/' in /includes/application_top.php

I'm new to eCommerce, and new to PHP.

Working thru the install of Zen Cart 1.3.9f with install docs from www.zen-cart.com/tutorials/index.php?article=107.

I get through the upload, and all of the CHMODS, etc. When I try to start the install, I get a "Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '/' in ***/catalog/includes/application_top.php on line 100" error.

The line in question starts a comment, and a cursory examination of the file appears as if there are no syntax errors in the application_top file.

Thoughts? Do I have a host web server config issue, or is it something silly I've overlooked?

Thanks in advance.

--Dan

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Install: Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '/' in /includes/application_top.

Could you try to reload the file to the server?

If you still get the error ... delete the file from the server and reload it ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Install: Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '/' in /includes/application_top.

OK, I deleted the directory and re-uploaded.

I have the info needed in the "Before running the Installer" section of the install article.

Started the installer: Got the welcome screen, so I know that PHP works on my host.

Now, when I click on "If this is the case for you, Click here to begin installation. ", I get a blank page. NO Source.