Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    54
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default What am I missing...

    ZenCart doesn't see my old database.

    1.) I created a new database named pha1017510012483

    2.) I clicked "Manage Database"

    3.) Clicked "Execute SQL" then "Run SQL from file"

    4.) Clicked "From uploaded file" and chose the backed up database file, "pha1017510012483.sql" from my desktop

    5.) Clicked "Execute"

    6.) Screen reads:

    EXECUTE SQL

    Output from uploaded SQL commands ..

    No output generated
    110 tables were created. 72 records were inserted.


    7.) This is the code where ZenCart looks for the database:

    // define our database connection
    define('DB_TYPE', 'mysql');
    define('DB_PREFIX', '');
    define('DB_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('DB_SERVER_USERNAME', '1234');
    define('DB_SERVER_PASSWORD', '1234567');
    define('DB_DATABASE', 'pha1017510012483');
    define('USE_PCONNECT', 'false');
    define('STORE_SESSIONS', 'db');
    // for STORE_SESSIONS, use 'db' for best support, or '' for file-based storage


    Since I logged in and created the database as 1234/1234567, I assume that's the right user/password for the code.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    54
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    ...I also tried changing the db prefix to 'zen_', that didn't help either.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,036
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    There are two configure.php files. One for the shop front and one for the 'admin' panel. Some settings are different but the section that deals with MySQL settings are the same in both files (or should be).

    Vger

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    54
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    Yeah, they match.

    Pulling my hair out now...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    54
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    Now I'm getting this:

    Safari can’t open the page “http://xxx.xx.xx.xxx/zencart/index.php?main_page=login”. The error is: “cannot decode raw data” (NSURLErrorDomain:-1015) Please choose Safari > Report Bugs to Apple, note the error number, and describe what you did before you saw this message.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,036
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    If you Google "NSURLErrorDomain:-1015" then you'll find that it's happening with all sorts of software, but only when the person is using a Mac. So it's an Apple problem.

    Login to your Zen Cart 'admin' panel and turn off gZip Compression on your site and that should resolve the problem.

    Vger

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    54
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    Nope. gZip was already off.

    I have a complete site on a test server, installed the same "d" version as on the current server. No matter what instructions I follow, I can't get the test site to see the old database. The fresh install works fine, and the old site is still live, so it works perfectly. I need the test site to be exactly like the live site before I pull the plug on that hosting account. I've made some many tweaks and adjustments, it is impractical to start over again, AND we have 200 or so customers in the old database.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Norfolk, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,036
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    Well I'm afraid that if the site can't "see" the database then it has to be a configuration issue. Sometimes site owners download and edit the two configure.php files and upload them again by FTP - not realising that the online files are 'read only' and aren't being overwritten when they upload.

    Vger

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Waikato, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,539
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: What am I missing...

    Have you looked inside your new database to see if there are actually records in there

    as this part

    No output generated
    110 tables were created. 72 records were inserted.
    seems a bit odd if you have 200 customers in the database (unless i am misunderstanding something)

    Otherwise I'll give a suggestion, probably something you have already checked but meh

    Are you on shared hosting?
    if so your db and db username may have a prefix (normally the first 8 letters of your site name)

    normally something like
    username = microsof_1234
    db = microsof_1234567

    look at the config file of your current working site and see what the username etc looks like and if they have a prefix

    Quote Originally Posted by SRHEdD View Post
    ZenCart doesn't see my old database.

    1.) I created a new database named pha1017510012483

    2.) I clicked "Manage Database"

    3.) Clicked "Execute SQL" then "Run SQL from file"

    4.) Clicked "From uploaded file" and chose the backed up database file, "pha1017510012483.sql" from my desktop

    5.) Clicked "Execute"

    6.) Screen reads:

    EXECUTE SQL

    Output from uploaded SQL commands ..

    No output generated
    110 tables were created. 72 records were inserted.


    7.) This is the code where ZenCart looks for the database:

    // define our database connection
    define('DB_TYPE', 'mysql');
    define('DB_PREFIX', '');
    define('DB_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('DB_SERVER_USERNAME', '1234');
    define('DB_SERVER_PASSWORD', '1234567');
    define('DB_DATABASE', 'pha1017510012483');
    define('USE_PCONNECT', 'false');
    define('STORE_SESSIONS', 'db');
    // for STORE_SESSIONS, use 'db' for best support, or '' for file-based storage


    Since I logged in and created the database as 1234/1234567, I assume that's the right user/password for the code.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. What am I missing?
    By Music Man in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2 May 2009, 03:35 AM
  2. What am I missing?
    By eggdashure in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10 Feb 2009, 12:46 AM
  3. What am I missing?
    By Rogue Tiger in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7 Sep 2007, 03:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR