Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    i had ZC 1.3.9d, and i noticed that when i try to enter my admin area with the correct username and password i got an error saying "There was a security error when trying to login."

    i searched around, checked all the obvious, all my templates, etc.. everything is fine!

    i figured i'd upgraded to 1.3.9g before posting a question.. and the problem persisted

    not sure why i thought of trying to login with ie9 but to my surprise i got logged in right away!
    tried again on chrome.. no difference.
    i deleted cookies, etc.. still no difference... i can't login to admin area through chrome!

    i finally went into admin/login.php and edited it around line 22 as follows:

    PHP Code:
        if ((!isset($_SESSION['securityToken']) || !isset($_POST['securityToken'])) || ($_SESSION['securityToken'] !== $_POST['securityToken'])) {
          
    $message true;
          
    $pass_message ERROR_SECURITY_ERROR;
            
    //DEBUG
            
    echo "sess - ".$_SESSION['securityToken']."<br>";
            echo 
    "post - ".$_POST['securityToken']."";
        } 
    then tried to login to figure out what's going wrong on chrome.
    both parameters are set, but their value never matches if i login through chrome for some reason

    everytime i hit login, a new session token was generated and the previous session token is shown as the current post token.. so the values never match

    i.e: login 1:
    sess - f76ced2335ff1c6078fb2bf0d09bd4a5
    post - a6bc3e59c9d1b493028b3c37749008a7

    login 2:

    sess - c1c205b71ae87a370fce114f5d381f4f
    post - f76ced2335ff1c6078fb2bf0d09bd4a5

    login 3:
    sess - 05dc14dce3c20a8e856aeebef8ae4722
    post - c1c205b71ae87a370fce114f5d381f4f

    and so on..

    can anybody make sense of this? i think it's got to do with the session not persisting on form post.. but i'm not sure why this only happens on chrome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    can anybody make sense of this? i think it's got to do with the session not persisting on form post.. but i'm not sure why this only happens on chrome
    It is a browser setting not a Zencart issue
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kobra View Post
    It is a browser setting not a Zencart issue
    I can't seem to find such a setting anywhere on chrome, not to mention that I can login to just about anything, from forums, to mail servers and control panels, etc... This problem only came up with ZC admin panel on google chrome.
    I'm not sure I understand what setting could trigger such behavior... Any idea?
    Posted via Mobile Device

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,761
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    I would have to get chrome...
    Maybe another that has it will respond
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    495
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    i sometimes get that error with firefox, i just click login again and it logs me in :S

    will check GC now though
    i may not know how yet, but i soon will....i hope :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    495
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    just tried it on my GC, working fine, on 3 different ZC websites... :S
    i may not know how yet, but i soon will....i hope :)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    Quote Originally Posted by spid3r1987 View Post
    just tried it on my GC, working fine, on 3 different ZC websites... :S
    one thing i notice, is when i go to mysite/admin the url automatically changes to mysite/admin/login.php?zenAdminID=g11mc5f87v4fjcqbsu75fcfeq0 (or another token)

    only happens on chrome.. not ie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    495
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    Quote Originally Posted by DXBLouie View Post
    one thing i notice, is when i go to mysite/admin the url automatically changes to mysite/admin/login.php?zenAdminID=g11mc5f87v4fjcqbsu75fcfeq0 (or another token)

    only happens on chrome.. not ie
    sounds a bit daft, but clear cache etc...
    then have another look??
    might be that its stored that sess....
    mine goes to a zenadmin id aswell.....
    try clearing cache and going to admin again....

    by clearing my cache and stored username & passwords it removed my zenid...
    i may not know how yet, but i soon will....i hope :)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    i already did that on chrome
    i even tried the incognito mode, which basically starts with no history, no cookies, no form data or saved password..

    same thing.. i hit admin/login.php, i typed the username and password and hit login

    the form reloaded with login.php?zenAdminID=q0c55td3hghm0o8n88smoid6p1 in the URL and the debug showed
    sess - d5bb2d29e0f2753ab390fb4cb9ffaa82
    post - d2ebd39b7347abe301f72ff40079767d

    i'm seriously lost here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't login to admin with google-chrome.. works fine on IE!

    i've upgraded to 1.3.9h hoping this would solve the problem.. no difference

    i figured i'd try a fresh install.. i created a new database, deleted all my browser cookies, installed a fresh copy of zc 1.3.9h and configured it.
    same problem!! i can login to admin through ie, while google chrome still shows "There was a security error when trying to login"

    i don't get it anymore :S

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Google Chrome Browser admin login problem
    By demiros in forum General Questions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 26 Oct 2016, 01:52 AM
  2. v154 Home page blank, admin works fine
    By FloridaJohn in forum General Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5 Jan 2016, 03:48 AM
  3. My ZC1.50 can't login in admin under Chrome 16.0.912.77
    By sunrise99 in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2 Feb 2012, 09:39 PM
  4. everything works fine except can't open any content under admin-configuration?
    By annie_eos in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16 May 2010, 08:49 PM
  5. Admin works fine, shop doesnt
    By jwhalley in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19 Jan 2008, 05:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR