Plugin Contributions

Default new store install to work under the root

Hi, I have someone that wants to keep the current site they have, but they want to sell items. My thought was to have an "our online store" button link to ZenCart. ZenCart would be installed in a sub folder for that domain, use Paypal. And on the main page of Zen I would have a "go back to our main site" link.

Can ZenCart work within a sub folder if you link to the Index.html in that folder from the root index.html? Do you foresee any issues?

I have built one complete site using ZenCart so far. The site this person wants to keep is a wordpress site. The person who built it tried to add a cart plugin but there are several things wrong with it. I have some WP knowledge but think using zen like I am thinking, if it can work like that, is the best solution.

Thanks

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: new Zencart install to work under the root

If the customer leaves the Zen Cart part and goes back to the "main site", his/her session will likely be lost along with any unpurchased items in the cart, so if he/she decides to return to the cart, he/she will probably have to log in again and reselect the items. This could lose customers.
    Mary Ellen
    I came; I saw; I Zenned
    Taking over the world... one website at a time
    Make sure brain is engaged before putting mouth in gear... or fingers to keyboard.

Holzheimer
    Fan Odyssey

Plugin Contributions

Yes, that's done all the time. Just install Zencart in the subdirectory and link to it from the main site. You'll want to be a little careful linking back to the main site, so you don't confuse visitors. Some change the 'Home' link in Zencart to link to the main site, which I think is a mistake - better to add a link, as you suggested.