Plugin Contributions

Default Installing to an existing website

Hello all,

I'm new to the Zen Cart and need help. I've read around quite a bit and have noticed that it isn't too find for beginners to find what they are looking for - so I thought of starting a new thread like this one, which might be helpful to others in the future.

I have a pharmacy website online, and looking to integrate Zen Cart so that I can have a shopping cart to start selling products online (for the moment just Brushes). I've installed Zen Cart on my web server (v1.3.9h), and have had an extensive look around for some hours without getting anywhere.

It just looks a bit over-sophisticated for what I am trying to do. I noticed there is a section to disable some features in the admin, but the admin seems to complicate things more for me.

All I want on the website is the following features:
    -Shopping Cart / view shopping basket feature
    -Product colour chooser (drop down box on each individual product page)
    -Add to Basket (on each individual product page)
    -Remove from basket (on shopping basket page)
    -Checkout (paypal checkout / on shopping basket page)

This is basically all I need on the site. I am a web designer, so do have technical knowledge although I have never built an ecommerce website before - so please advise if I missed any other basic out (i.e. if Continue Shopping button needed, or log in actually essential).

I have previously used WordPress before and although it was hell to learn it, it seems much simpler overall than Zen Cart.

What is the best approach to add this functionality to the already exisiting website? Is Zen Cart the best shopping cart to use in this case? (PS although I just need these basic functions right now, I may implement additional features Zen Cart has to offer at a later date).

Any help greatly appreaciated!

Kind Regards

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Installing the Zen Cart to an existing website