Plugin Contributions

Default Back and forth between PayPal & Zen Cart

I asked a friend of mine to test purchase an item from my shop. She came back with the following issue:-

One thing that seemed odd (but I’ve never used Paypal before) was the fact that after confirming my order and going to paypal, I was returned to Elly Books again had to confirm the order again once or twice before I got the done and dusted screen. Is that right?

Any idea why it does this? Can the process be streamlined?

Many thanks

Blog Entries
    Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Back and forth between PayPal & Zen Cart

There are 2 ways to go thru PayPal checkout: either you use the "Check out with PayPal" button from the shopping cart page, which takes you to the PayPal site to select your funding source, and then back to your store to choose shipping method, enter any coupons and calculate taxes, and then finally choose Confirm to get the "done and dusted screen."
    Or you use the "Continue to Checkout" button on the shopping cart page, which will ask you to login or create an account, then select shipping, then coupons/taxes and indicate that you wish to pay with PayPal, and then choose Confirm before being redirected to PayPal to ask for all the payment details, and then come back to the "done and dusted screen".

Same number of steps each way. How exactly do you envision "streamlining" it? Which information do you think you can cut out? You need the shipping address to calculate taxes and offer shipping choices. You need to allow entry of coupons if you use them in your store. Your customer has to confirm the payment amount. And they have to do their thing on the Paypal side. Not much to "streamline" there.

Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole