Plugin Contributions

help question Does the notifier support changing Product Names as they go into the Cart, or Order?

I have developed a 'spare parts' system for our online shop, at http://www.premierrange.co.uk/index....in_page=spares. I'm a pretty capable developer and have been working with ZC for 2 or 3 years now.

Each spare part is an individual product, e.g. products_id = 123 and has a simple name like products_name = 'Glass Canopy'. A more useful product name can be generated by some custom lookups in our database to include the spare part category tree it's in, e.g. "H76 -> 60cm -> Stainless Steel -> Glass Canopy".

http://www.premierrange.co.uk/index....roducts_id=278

A quick fix would be to simply store more detailed product names, e.g zen_products_description.products_name = 'H76 -> 60cm -> Stainless Steel -> Glass Canopy' .. I could work around the problems this causes when I need to show just "Glass Canopy" (e.g. on the spares diagram page http://www.premierrange.co.uk/index....cat_path=1_2_6) .. but I'd really like to use the observer system, if possible.

I want to be able to modify the products_name that's put into the Order. Preferably, it should also modify the name seen in the Shopping Cart. So the products_name stays as 'Glass Canopy' in the zen_products_description table, but when you click Add To Cart, you see "H76 -> 60cm -> Stainless Steel -> Glass Canopy" and that's what appears on the order too.

In this way, the customer sees a short name like 'Glass Canopy', and our back office staff see a detailed name that they need to pick the correct item.

1/ for the shopping cart:
    I can see that the shopping_cart.php code only stores the products_id, so it only knows which product is in the cart, not its name. The Shopping Cart page gets the name during modules/pages/shopping_cart/header_php.php and only uses it for one-time rendering on the cart page.