Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    44
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Required fields issue

    Hi all, I am having as issue with required fields using attributes. All of my attributes are required but when I do a test order and purposely skip some options it still allows the purchase to go through. Is there a way to make it that if options are skipped the system will alert the customer of the skipped options?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    If you are using Radiobuttons or Dropdowns, you should set an extra Option Value such as:
    Pick your choice

    Then add the Attribute
    Default: YES
    Display Only: YES
    Sort Order: 0

    If you are using TEXT, you need to mark the Attribute:
    Attribute Required
    for Text: YES

    If you are using Checkboxes, there is not a setting to force a selection ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    44
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    Hi, thanks you!

    Can you tell me how to edit zencart emails like subscribe, unsubscribe, welcome, etc.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    672
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    Code:
    If you are using TEXT, you need to mark the Attribute:
    Attribute Required
    for Text: YES
    I did this as you said but for me it will accept the text attribute without entering any text into the box. How can I force them to enter text into the text box?

    You can see an example here under the text attribute of: "Artwork Size (ex. 12W X 12H)" : http://www.framesforlife.com/copy-ex...example-1-p-11If you click add to cart without entering text, it will accept as long as you enter the other forced attributes for the other drop downs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    63
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    I wish users would post back the fix.

    Anyway I have the same problem. I have set my text Attributes to, Attribute Required for Text: = Yes

    And still requiered is no working? thats strange

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    63
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    I found the fix. go to Thread http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showth...+Required+Text at POST #7

    Did The Trick Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    672
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Required fields issue

    Thanks webstar59. I hadn't found the answer until you responded with the solution in this post. Since there were several side posts which just confused me, I decide to post what worked perfectly for me:

    I have v. 1.3.9h and lots of add ons. I made a database backup, then went to: Tools> Install SQL patches and pasted this code and clicked: "send".
    Code:
    INSERT INTO `configuration` VALUES ('', 'Product option type Select', 'PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT', '0', 'The number representing the Select type of product option.', 0, NULL, '2007-03-19 17:57:39', '2007-03-19 17:57:39', NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO `configuration` VALUES ('', 'Upload prefix', 'UPLOAD_PREFIX', 'upload_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between upload options and other options', 0, NULL, '2007-03-19 17:57:39', '2007-03-19 17:57:39', NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO `configuration` VALUES ('', 'Text prefix', 'TEXT_PREFIX', 'txt_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between text option values and other option values', 0, NULL, '2007-03-19 17:57:39', '2007-03-19 17:57:39', NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO `configuration` VALUES ('', 'Image Handler Version', 'IH_VERSION', '2.0', 'This is used by image handler to check if the database is up to date with uploaded image handler files.', 0, 100, NULL, '2007-06-06 16:47:03', NULL, 'zen_cfg_textarea_small(');
    No errors and now text is required for a text box. (Assuming you have the red "required" box checked in the attribute area).

    I appreciate your effort.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Red asterisk on required attributes & issue with required attribute
    By ShopVille in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13 Feb 2013, 03:18 AM
  2. Required fields not filled
    By asappia in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16 Oct 2008, 05:23 AM
  3. Required Fields
    By dreamstudio in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17 Mar 2007, 06:09 AM
  4. Marking required text attribute fields with an * or (required)?
    By fepb in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3 Mar 2007, 07:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR