Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    I'm soooo desperate here! I've had my online store for about 3 years now and getting it customized and up and running took a serious act of god... I look back now and don't even know it even happened, it was all a blur as I was having a friend help me, she basically said "put this here and that there, move this here, add this coding..." You get the drift! Anyway, the store looks pretty decent to ME in Firefox (which is what I use personally 100% of the time)... but looks terrible in I.E. I even have a note on the store telling people to please use Chrome or Firefox... but I SHOULDN'T have to even do that. People should be able to browse and purchase using whatever browser they want... I have googled until I'm blue in the face, and now I've finally broken down and am making a desperate plea for any help I can get! If anyone has any idea, please do a step by step explanation of what file I need to open, how I need to edit it, what lines need removed or edited, etc etc. I've noticed a lot on this forum "experts" (bless their hearts!) tend to just ramble off a bunch of stuff that leaves me even more clueless than I started off! I am definitely someone that needs a more in depth explanation of what I need to do to fix this. So if anyone has any ideas, suggestions, help?! I would be so grateful!!

    website: http://www.pimpmytagswithscraps.com/store

    Thank you again!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,137
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    The problems start in your second line of code (the HTML declaration) and go downhill from there.
    Looks as if the desire for facebook has clouded someone's thinking.

    Validation of your site shows 88 errors and 38 warnings

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Quote Originally Posted by dbltoe View Post
    The problems start in your second line of code (the HTML declaration) and go downhill from there.
    Looks as if the desire for facebook has clouded someone's thinking.

    Validation of your site shows 88 errors and 38 warnings
    See, that's the exact thing that I mentioned in my first post about this! *sigh*

    The "experts" replies to us laymen are vague if not completely confusing and kinda uppity to us that don't jive with the whole "errors" "warnings" "validate" speak. Even if I validated, I don't think I would know how to fix many of the issues wrong. And the store functions. period. Granted the coding isn't "PERFECT" (obviously or I wouldn't be here) but people visit, people browse, people purchase, people get what they want. I just am concerned with the appearance in I.E.

    And for the record, my store was doing the nasty screwy looking thing in I.E. from day 1... and I only recently added the Facebook scenario to it, so it has nothing to do with my desire to get my store products to post on Facebook, which in turn, boosts my sales. Unless you have an actual answer, please refrain from telling me how stupid I am, thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Sunny Rossendale (not)
    Posts
    556
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    If you clear most of the errors you will find that will set you on your way to solving your problems, also remember people on this forum give there help and advice FREE and dbltoe in particular has been a great help to me so please a little respect for the great team we have on here without whom I and many others would be lost.
    What ever your doing remember to KISS ( Keep It Simple Stupid )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    1,678
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    I can see one thing that may be causing a problem. You have your header image designated in the page code, rather than the stylesheet. This appears in the coding for the page:

    <img src="http://www.pimpmytagswithscraps.com/store/images/2012_pmtws_header_NEW.jpg" width="950" height="358" border="0">

    And in your #logoWrapper, you have nothing:

    #logoWrapper{
    background-image: url();
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #ffffff;
    height:75px;
    }

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Quote Originally Posted by RescoCCC View Post
    I can see one thing that may be causing a problem. You have your header image designated in the page code, rather than the stylesheet. This appears in the coding for the page:

    <img src="http://www.pimpmytagswithscraps.com/store/images/2012_pmtws_header_NEW.jpg" width="950" height="358" border="0">

    And in your #logoWrapper, you have nothing:

    #logoWrapper{
    background-image: url();
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #ffffff;
    height:75px;
    }





    Now THIS is helpful!!! thank you very much. I will take a look at the logo wrapper coding. Should I put the image url where it says: background-image: url(PUT MY IMAGE URL HERE);

    ... and just remove the other image information where you said it shouldn't be in the page code rather than the style sheet? I had a mapped header before, and it was located where the current "new header" image information was, so I thought I could just replace it with a non mapped header (took out all the mapping coding) and it would have fixed it in I.E, but no go. See, I'm a total newb! Sorry! Thanks for breaking it down to me in layman's terms heheh! I appreciate it!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    20,024
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Try removing the height: 75px; statement from #logoWrapper in the stylesheet.
    Last edited by stevesh; 2 Jan 2012 at 01:31 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Quote Originally Posted by discoverytdi View Post
    If you clear most of the errors you will find that will set you on your way to solving your problems, also remember people on this forum give there help and advice FREE and dbltoe in particular has been a great help to me so please a little respect for the great team we have on here without whom I and many others would be lost.

    First... it's THEIR not THERE... (yeah I just went THERE) and second, pointing me to the validation website does NOT tell me HOW to fix the issues, it only tells me WHAT the issues are. Fine and dandy to know WHAT they are... I need to figure out HOW to fix them. I have complete and total respect for those that offer HELP on this forum, or at even sympathy, not those that tell me Facebook implementation for an online store shouldn't be a top priority and that basically my coding is screwed up with more errors than not. So yeah, hackles are officially raised. Again, the more HELP posts on this thread, the better. Thanks for your two cents though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    WA State
    Posts
    1,678
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Yes, put it in as the background in logoWrapper in your stylesheet.css and remove it from the coding for the page. Upload the image to includes/templates/your_template/images and code it thus:

    #logoWrapper{
    background-image: url(../images/your_image.jpg);
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #ffffff;
    height:75px;
    }

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Please help! Looks OK in Firefox, Not OK in I.E. ?!

    Quote Originally Posted by stevesh View Post
    Try removing the height: 75px; statement from #logoWrapper in the stylesheet.
    I was totally wondering about this. Wondered if I put my image coding where it says URL( ) in the logo wrapper area, and then wondered what that would do to the height errr... statement. I dunno what a statement is, but it sounds right, LOL. Thanks so much for your help, going to get to poking around!

 

 
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Looks great in Firefox, broken in IE. help :)
    By linnx in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Mar 2010, 07:06 PM
  2. Looks fine in Firefox but not IE
    By caedensmommy in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19 Jun 2008, 02:25 AM
  3. My website looks terrible in FireFox... Please HELP
    By YairOz in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26 Oct 2007, 02:00 AM
  4. Help: Looks Great in Firefox / Safari - Crap In IE
    By bekinky in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19 Jan 2007, 05:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR