Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    I had originally wanted to upgrade to 1.5 BUT because of the lack of customization for the Canada Post module, I have had to revert to sticking with my current site: ver. 1.3.9h Okay fine.

    I am working remote, so, please ignore the existing live site. I am not working from it and have no intention of actually using much of anything from it other than the db which I might add holds nearly 8 years of data I do not wish to lose.

    So here's the thing. I have done a clean install of 1.3.9h, added on the modules I want and in order to test my data imported my db.

    And it works great... except...

    Ooops... now it says my db needs patching to a higher level.

    BUT it will NOT allow the ZC_install to run as when I call it site/zc_install it doesn't install, it simply goes to the home page (you have successfully installed bla bla) with the lovely (most annoying at this point) red banner warning that my DB needs to be patched to a higher level.

    Ideas???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,807
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    That "annoying red banner" is there because you've imported old data into the system, and it needs upgrading.

    So, you need to upload the zc_install folder for the version you're upgrading to, and then put zc_install/index.php in your browser address bar, and choose the Database Upgrade setting when it's offered.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    That "annoying red banner" is there because you've imported old data into the system, and it needs upgrading.

    So, you need to upload the zc_install folder for the version you're upgrading to, and then put zc_install/index.php in your browser address bar, and choose the Database Upgrade setting when it's offered.
    I do appreciate the help, and as much as I would like for that to work...

    I have already reinstalled the zc_install and I have typed the siteaddress/zc_install command into the address bar BUT it goes to the home page without going into the zc_install process. Same warning about the DB.

    Typing zc_install/index.php gives me a 404 error.

    As I said I am working locally. Although that shouldn't make a difference should it?

    Got another option?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,807
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    404 = not found
    So, you need to determine why it's telling you that the zc_install folder and its index.php file are "not found". Sounds like it's either not there, or isn't in the folder you're telling it to look in.

    This is a test site, right? so, why are you going to site.com/zc-install instaed of site.com/yourtestarea/zc-install ... etc etc etc.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    404 = not found
    So, you need to determine why it's telling you that the zc_install folder and its index.php file are "not found". Sounds like it's either not there, or isn't in the folder you're telling it to look in.

    This is a test site, right? so, why are you going to site.com/zc-install instaed of site.com/yourtestarea/zc-install ... etc etc etc.
    The file is there AND it is in the folder I am telling it to look in.

    I am going to this address exactly: http://127.0.0.1:8888/zc_install which should take me to the upgrade process. It doesn't it takes me to the home page. I don't even get an error message.

    IF I type in http://127.0.0.1:8888/zc_install/index.php I get the 404 error.

    The site is right where it's supposed to be if I type in http://127.0.0.1:8888 with the red banner that my db requires patching intact.

    If it helps, while zc_install is not renamed to english zc_install I get the additional red warning header: Warning: Installation directory exists at: C:\Program Files (x86)\EasyPHP-5.3.8.1\www\zc_install. Please remove this directory for security reasons.

    I'm pretty positive I'm doing this right and do not for the life of me understand WHY the zc_install doesn't launch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,807
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    I can tell you exactly why the zc_install doesn't launch. It's telling you 404 Not Found. That's why.

    The real question you need to find an answer to is ... why is YOUR server not seeing the file that you allege is there?

    And what on earth do you mean by "while zc_install is not renamed to english zc_install"? What does "renamed to english" have anything to do with zc_install?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    I can tell you exactly why the zc_install doesn't launch. It's telling you 404 Not Found. That's why.

    The real question you need to find an answer to is ... why is YOUR server not seeing the file that you allege is there?

    And what on earth do you mean by "while zc_install is not renamed to english zc_install"? What does "renamed to english" have anything to do with zc_install?
    Okay, lets try this again only using different words.

    When I type the address for my ZC into my address bar: 127.0.0.1:8888 I get my home page. Looks great! Except, on the top of the page there is the stack saying that my db needs to be patched. The only reason that I do not see the error stack for the ZC_install is because I have renamed it to english zc_install. If I name it back to zc_install, I get the stack banner telling me to remove the ZC_install and while it is in place I cannot enter my admin (so I named it english zc_install).

    If I rename all my private file names for my ADMIN folder back to Admin and adjust all of my pointers so that they go to admin, rename english zc_install to just zc_install and then go to my address: 127.0.0.1:8888 I get my site, with the stack errors intact.

    If I then type in 127.0.0.1:8888/zc_install it goes directly to the same address as 127.0.0.1:8888 and does NOT launch the ZC_install at all.

    The only time I get the error message is when I typed in the zc_install/index.php that YOU told me to type in. Otherwise I do NOT get the error.

    What I do get is that I land on the home page as if I never ever typed the address with zc_install after the /.

    I'm sorry if I seem to not be explaining this correctly. BUT the only problem seems to be that the ZC_install doesn't launch and I can't figure out why not.

    I have verified my file structure and it is intact (otherwise I'd be unable to see my site), the ZC_install is soundly in the WWW folder where it is supposed to be and it still does not launch.

    Am I missing something?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,807
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pepperfire View Post
    If I then type in 127.0.0.1:8888/zc_install it goes directly to the same address as 127.0.0.1:8888 and does NOT launch the ZC_install at all.
    Right. And that suggests that your webserver software isn't properly configured, else it wouldn't be redirecting you.
    Quote Originally Posted by Pepperfire View Post
    The only time I get the error message is when I typed in the zc_install/index.php that YOU told me to type in. Otherwise I do NOT get the error.
    Right, and the reason you're getting the error is because the webserver isn't seeing the file you're telling it to load.
    Quote Originally Posted by Pepperfire View Post
    What I do get is that I land on the home page as if I never ever typed the address with zc_install after the /.
    As I said, that's a webserver problem.

    I can't help you with your EasyPHP or whatever software you're using. I don't have it, and don't use a Windows computer to even install it on.
    But it sounds like whatever webserver software you're using is having problems.
    Or, you're missing files that ought to be present for it to work properly.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    78
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Right. And that suggests that your webserver software isn't properly configured, else it wouldn't be redirecting you.
    Right, and the reason you're getting the error is because the webserver isn't seeing the file you're telling it to load.
    As I said, that's a webserver problem.

    I can't help you with your EasyPHP or whatever software you're using. I don't have it, and don't use a Windows computer to even install it on.
    But it sounds like whatever webserver software you're using is having problems.
    Or, you're missing files that ought to be present for it to work properly.
    Easyphp sees the site fine, sees the admin fine, accesses the db fine enough to tell me it needs to be patched, but it's not configured properly?

    Pardon my confusion but that simply does not make sense.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    59,807
    Blog Entries
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    133

    Default Re: L'il help in figuring out why db won't upgrade?

    Agreed. And in all the years I've been using zc_install, your "404 Not Found" experience simply does not make sense either.
    A webserver engine ONLY issues a "404 Not Found" response when the file you're requesting doesn't exist (or is not visible to it because you've set permissions on it so low that it's not authorized to access it, and thus it's "not found" to it when it goes looking for it).

    And the redirect to the home page also doesn't make sense, unless you've got URL rewrites going on (ie: /www/.htaccess stuff you added that doesn't come with Zen Cart's files) that are interfering with normal operation.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donations always welcome: www.zen-cart.com/donate

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need help figuring out errors
    By nolsowski in forum General Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23 Jan 2011, 12:56 AM
  2. tpl_module_attributes.php - need help figuring out what is what
    By tanyaslogos in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16 Feb 2010, 07:46 PM
  3. Figuring COGS
    By helpme in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15 Aug 2009, 04:12 AM
  4. Need help figuring out what I deleted
    By susanshropshire in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13 Jun 2009, 02:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •