Plugin Contributions

Default Getting error message when trying to play with files in Dreamweaver CS5

Told you I would be back. I have downloaded a template called avignon that seems to be very easy to work with to start my own customization. Now I am a web designer, not a web developer. I don't like using server-side code but have to as in cases like this or when working with a Wordpress site. As a web designer I prefer to use Dreamweaver CS5 so I can "see" changes as I incorporate them. I have set up WAMP and can see the finished template just fine. However when I try to access the individual pages that make up the template (i.e. tpl_header.php), I get an error. First at the top of the page in Dreamweaver it states Dynamically-related files could not be resolved because your credentials don't allow file activity on the server. I click setup and get the popup menu to setup servers. Sice I am using WAMP, I have everything loaded at c:\wamp\www\zencart. Server is localhost, address is c:/wamp/www. Have connection as local/network, and testing box is checked. Now the cool thing about Dreamweaver is when you want to see the pages in a browser, you hit F12 and your default browser displays the page. I get a Forbidden message that I "don't have permission to access /zencart/includes/templates/avignon/common/tpl_header.php on this server". What am I doing wrong? As stated above "designer not developer"! Help please?

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Getting error message when trying to play with files in Dreamweaver CS5

Never use a web design tool such as Dreamweaver to edit php files. These tools frequently screw up the code. Use a pure text editor such as Notepad++.

Blog Entries
    Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Getting error message when trying to play with files in Dreamweaver CS5

Those "features" you're using in DW are not relevant to how a dynamically-built website like Zen Cart works.