Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    I up graded a site from 1.38h to 1.50 using the approved instructions provided by Zen Cart. I thought all went well. The customer is discovering problems. I've included examples as I can. (we'll skip his irriation about the login timeout <G>) Worst case - I do have a backup!

    ISSUE #1)
    the site is http://cart.valleyrailroadmodeltrains.com

    If you look at some pages you will notice odd fonts appearing.
    (See this page: http://cart.valleyrailroadmodeltrain...oducts_id=2213


    Those codes were not there prior to the upgrade.

    ISSUE #2)
    You can see the description on line in the about mentioned item. Now if you pull up that item in the admin pages this is what you see:



    Notice the description in blank.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan USA
    Posts
    20,312
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    #1 is the result of pasting the copy in question into Zencart from a WYSIWYG editor, along with all the styling that editor adds, including this: <font size="4">.

    Better to use the CKE editor mod or (my choice) insert the copy as text and style it in the stylesheet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    #1 I found the answer to. It involved changing the language type in the \admin\language\english.php file to "latin1".

    #2 is still an issue. I'm using the new CKeditor v3.6x and still have the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,641
    Plugin Contributions
    73

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    Quote Originally Posted by bwtharp View Post
    #2 is still an issue. I'm using the new CKeditor v3.6x and still have the problem.
    Look in your /cache directory. I'm betting that you have a bunch of admin log files that indicate PHP failures due to the change from utf8 to latin1, possibly from the htmlentities function.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    Yes, but it's absolutely useless to me; (Translated => I'm not sure how to fix it!) Obviously I've got something set wrong somewhere but I'm not understanding the fix.

    [12-Apr-2012 05:38:38] PHP Warning: htmlspecialchars() [<a href='function.htmlspecialchars'>function.htmlspecialchars</a>]: Invalid multibyte sequence in argument in /xxxxx/xxxxx/includes/modules/product/collect_info.php on line 401

    [12-Apr-2012 05:37:45] PHP Warning: htmlspecialchars() [<a href='function.htmlspecialchars'>function.htmlspecialchars</a>]: Invalid multibyte sequence in argument in /xxxx/xxxxx/includes/modules/product/collect_info.php on line 401

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,641
    Plugin Contributions
    73

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    It looks like you got it sorted out ... how did you do it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,399
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    232

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    Almost certainly the problem is caused by changing characters sets incorrectly.
    http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=414
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    It's not at all fixed. Still working on it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mountain Maryland
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    I did a authorized install from a new download of 1.5 per the instructions including choosing "upgrade" when converting the database. I have no reference to "DB_CHARSET in my configure.php file, just the language.php file.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,399
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    232

    Default Re: Upgrade missing product descriptions on Admin, not site - Fonts a bit odd

    I'm not going to sit and argue with you, but I will state emphatically that a clean NEW installation will indeed set DB_CHARSET in the configure.php files.
    If you copy another file overtop of it, then of course the rest of the content will be replaced with whatever you overwrite it with.
    Doing an upgrade will NOT replace the configure.php files: it only reads them. So if you're doing an upgrade and not a new install, then the files will NOT include the DB_CHARSET line.

    Either way, if the DB_CHARSET is missing from your configure.php files, then if you want to use a different character set than the default, you'll need to put it there yourself.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. can't see product descriptions in admin after upgrade.....
    By voluntaryist.only in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18 Jul 2013, 03:05 PM
  2. v151 Since upgrade, I can't edit some (not all) product descriptions -
    By thelorus in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18 Jul 2013, 02:45 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27 Jan 2013, 10:11 AM
  4. After Upgrade Admin Menus Missing - Not a User 1 Issue
    By Bob La Londe in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19 May 2012, 02:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR