Results 1 to 10 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    My family and I live in Brighton, England
    Posts
    982
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Changing all prices to a different currency

    Goal: Change all prices from Euro to Pound.

    Following advice given on this thread, I used the following sql patch to update prices on a test site:

    Code:
    update products set products_price = products_price * '0.83870798';
    And then set the default currency to the UK Pound.

    This seems to have worked well, although I noticed that an existing 10% off Salemaker was decreased to 7%.

    I'd like to understand why this occurred before applying this sql patch to my other sites. To view an example of the incident, please visit this url. I have applied the sql patch to this site.

    Thanks for your thoughts on this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    Just taking a guess here, but I'm reckoning that when you created your sale prices you used actual amounts rather than % discounts. Then as a result of the change of your currency values (which would have no effect on the discount prices entered) Zencart is calculating the new discounts to be 7%.

    If you had specified your discounts to be 10% rather than Euro value I suspect that this wouldn't pose a problem.

    As I say, just guess.

    Cheers
    Rod

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    My family and I live in Brighton, England
    Posts
    982
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    Quote Originally Posted by RodG View Post
    Just taking a guess here, but I'm reckoning that when you created your sale prices you used actual amounts rather than % discounts. Then as a result of the change of your currency values (which would have no effect on the discount prices entered) Zencart is calculating the new discounts to be 7%.

    If you had specified your discounts to be 10% rather than Euro value I suspect that this wouldn't pose a problem.

    As I say, just guess.

    Cheers
    Rod
    Hi Rod, Thanks for the reply. Yes, I thought that might be the case, as well. However, checking the Salemaker, I see that I did indeed use 10% rather than a fixed amount.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,090
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    Reset the percentage. Maybe the percentage discount doesnt actually work 'in real time' and writes the discounted value to the database. Even though you have changed the original price via the database, the discounted prices is the same as when it was in euros (You could work out if Im right with a calculator)

    Go back into sale maker and re-do the discounts.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,167
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    " "
    Last edited by RodG; 9 May 2012 at 11:12 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    My family and I live in Brighton, England
    Posts
    982
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    OK, I see what the problem was: I had previously created a 10% off Salemaker sale, but it wasn't active. Instead, I had used the "Specials" option to individually apply 10% discounts, as these served me more efficiently. Therefore, I needed to go in and reset each of those percentages individually to 10%.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    My family and I live in Brighton, England
    Posts
    982
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    Another question: After applying the sql patch to this site, the Pound cost of an item was, for example, £6.71. The Euro price for the same item is €8.65. However, that same product on another of my sites, while also £6.71 in pounds, is only €8.00 in Euro.

    The Currency Conversion Ratio is the same on both sites, the only difference being that the site displaying the item for €8.00 has the Euro as the default currency (I haven't yet applied the sql patch and switched to Pounds yet). Why the difference?

    Thanks again for your input!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,090
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Changing all prices to a different currency

    Probably due to the way you're working out discounts/markup. You took a percentage 'off' a larger value to make the £ value. On the other site the euro value is a multiplication of the lower £ value to make the higher euro value.

    Much like when people work out profit/margin and get it wrong, as 20% profit markup is not the same value as 20% margin.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v139h Changing Default Currency without changing prices
    By nigelt74 in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13 Nov 2018, 05:07 AM
  2. How to change all prices to different currency?
    By DavidVitazka in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8 Feb 2009, 04:26 PM
  3. Possible to statically update different currency prices?
    By esugrue in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7 Jan 2008, 06:57 AM
  4. Different currency = different prices?!
    By nocas in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 Sep 2007, 04:10 PM
  5. Make all currency prices end in .99
    By apemusic in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22 Nov 2006, 08:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR