Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Getting a blank page after editing header.php

Hello & good day,

I am new to zc & to website design ... I have tried Looking for the answer in the forums ... But i might be looking in the wrong places ...

I would like suggestions for a plain text editor to run on the mac platfom (lion).

I have tried editing some php files using text edit ... I tried saving it as a plain text file, but when i upload the file to the server, the entire sites goes blank ... If i restore the From a backup, then the site comes back to live ... Which tells me that the file is being saved in a format which zencart doesn't like ...

Any adivse / suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Hector

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Plain text editor for mac

TextEdit probably saved your changes in the RTF file format.

I very highly recommend BBEdit, from Barebones Software. I've been using BBE for at least 15 years. You can get it through the Mac Store or directly from Barebones. It's not expensive, but if you prefer, they offer a simpler editor called TextWrangler for free.

Rob

Plugin Contributions

thanks for the quick response ... so the main difference is just the features that they offer? ... i should be able to use either to do all the minor changes needed to manipulate templates?

Blog Entries
    Plugin Contributions

A broader list of software suggestions including other categories:
    http://www.zen-cart.com/wiki/index.php/Useful_Tools

Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.