Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,366
    Plugin Contributions
    87

    Default Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Every time I'm adding a new item to my v1.5.0 admin, I search the forums and can never find the post (I know it's there) that identifies how to get your new tool added to the admin menu ... so I'm noting the process here.

    Let's say that you have a new tool named new_tool.php that you want to plug into the Tools menu. Here's the file-system structure you should wind up with:

    Code:
    /YOUR_ADMIN/new_tool.php
        Contains the code that implements your new tool.
    
    /YOUR_ADMIN/includes/extra_datafiles/new_tool_filenames.php
        Contains the filename definition for your new tool, e.g. define('FILENAME_NEW_TOOL', 'new_tool.php');
    
    /YOUR_ADMIN/includes/languages/english/extra_definitions/new_tool_name.php
        Contains the menu entry text definition for your new tool, e.g. define('BOX_TOOLS_NEW_TOOL', 'New Tool');
    
    /YOUR_ADMIN/includes/languages/english/new_tool.php
        Contains the language-specific defines for your new tool, filename must be the same name as to tool itself.
    The following file is where your tool is actually added to the admin Tools menu.

    /YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php:
    Code:
    if (!defined('IS_ADMIN_FLAG')) {
        die('Illegal Access');
    } 
    
    //----
    // If the installation supports admin-page registration (i.e. v1.5.0 and later), then
    // register the New Tools tool into the admin menu structure.
    //
    if (function_exists('zen_register_admin_page')) {
      if (!zen_page_key_exists('toolsNewTool')) {
        zen_register_admin_page('toolsNewTool', 'BOX_TOOLS_NEW_TOOL', 'FILENAME_NEW_TOOL','' , 'tools', 'Y', 20);
      }    
    }
    • The value toolsNewTool is a (hopefully) unique value that identifies your new tool.
    • The values BOX_TOOLS_NEW_TOOL and FILENAME_NEW_TOOL are defined within the other files within your toolset.
    • The fourth parameter ('') has any parameters that your tool might require. (Rarely used.)
    • The fifth parameter ('tools' in the example) identifies which of the high-level menu items your tool "attaches" to, one of: configuration, catalog, modules, customers, taxes, localization, reports, tools, gv, access, or extras.
    • The sixth parameter ('Y') identifies whether ('Y') or not ('N') to display the page on the admin menu.
    • The seventh parameter (20) is the sort order for the page, i.e. where it lives on the drop-down menu in relation to the sort order of others.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,363
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    NOTE: This post has been updated and converted to an FAQ article at: http://www.zen-cart.com/content.php?...e-v1-5-0-admin
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,366
    Plugin Contributions
    87

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Thanks, DrByte! Is there a procedure that I can use to modify that FAQ? I was eventually planning on adding instructions for enabling plugins that attach to the Configuration menu via SQL patches.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,366
    Plugin Contributions
    87

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    I found it ... I suppose since I'm noted as the author there's a teeny "Edit" button next to the FAQ title. I'll try not to mess it up when I edit it!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    DownUnder, overlooking South Pole.
    Posts
    976
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Thanks lat9 - much clearer now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    607
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Does this work with Zen Cart 1.5.1 also?
    Using Zen Cart 1.5.1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    607
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    I added a plugin to the admin menu for 1.5.1.

    How do you add the following to the admin? Ann admin menu item with and ID.
    Code:
    http://www.YourDomain.com/shop/admin/configuration.php?gID=33
    Using Zen Cart 1.5.1

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    607
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    By using this method, new menu items gets added to different parts of the admin; specifically to “zen_admin_pages” table in the database?

    1. Once added do you leave the “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file, or do delete it?

    2. If you want to change the sort order of this file, would the change be done from this file “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” or you would have to it from change “zen_admin_pages” table?

    3. Is “zen_admin_pages” table, the only table getting effected by creating “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file?

    4. If you make a mistake, where can correct your mistake, in the “zen_admin_pages” table or “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file?

    I went ahead and added the following to the admin menu,
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin205 View Post
    How do you add the following to the admin? Ann admin menu item with and ID.
    Code:
    http://www.YourDomain.com/shop/admin/configuration.php?gID=33
    Ofsource the menu is not seen under the configuration menu!

    And I saw what I did wrong “zen_admin_pages” table.

    Question, can I fix this in SQL or is there another way of doing it?
    Last edited by Kevin205; 4 Feb 2013 at 07:18 PM.
    Using Zen Cart 1.5.1

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,366
    Plugin Contributions
    87

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin205 View Post
    Does this work with Zen Cart 1.5.1 also?
    Yes, it does.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin205 View Post
    I added a plugin to the admin menu for 1.5.1.

    How do you add the following to the admin? Ann admin menu item with and ID.
    Code:
    http://www.YourDomain.com/shop/admin/configuration.php?gID=33
    You need to upload (via FTP) a file named /YOUR_ADMIN/includes/languages/english/extra_definitions/your_menu_item.php. That file needs to contain a definition:
    Code:
    define('BOX_YOUR_MENU_ITEM', 'My Menu Item');
    Once that file's uploaded, you can use your admin's Admin Access Management->Admin Page Registration and enter:
    Page Key Name ... myMenuItemConfiguration
    Page Name ........... BOX_YOUR_MENU_ITEM
    Page File Name ..... FILENAME_CONFIGURATION
    Page Parameters .. gID=33
    Menu ..................... Configuration
    Display on Menu? .. checked
    Sort Order ............. nn

    Then click "Insert".

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin205 View Post
    By using this method, new menu items gets added to different parts of the admin; specifically to “zen_admin_pages” table in the database?

    1. Once added do you leave the “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file, or do delete it?

    2. If you want to change the sort order of this file, would the change be done from this file “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” or you would have to it from change “zen_admin_pages” table?

    3. Is “zen_admin_pages” table, the only table getting effected by creating “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file?

    4. If you make a mistake, where can correct your mistake, in the “zen_admin_pages” table or “/YOUR_ADMIN/includes/functions/extra_functions/init_new_tool.php” file?

    I went ahead and added the following to the admin menu,

    Ofsource the menu is not seen under the configuration menu!

    And I saw what I did wrong “zen_admin_pages” table.

    Question, can I fix this in SQL or is there another way of doing it?
    1. Your choice, you can either leave it or delete it.
    2. The easiest way to change the sort order is to use phpMyAdmin and change the sort order in your DB_PREFIX . admin_pages entry.
    3. Yes. It's the admin_pages table with your DB_PREFIX value prepended.
    4. If you make a mistake, your can delete the item you created using the following SQL patch (run from your admin's Tools->Install SQL Patches:
    Code:
    DELETE FROM admin_pages WHERE page_key='myMenuItemConfiguration';
    Note that if you're testing out a plugin that you're creating you should be creating a backup of your database that you can restore to in the event that your modification doesn't work "quite right".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    607
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Adding a menu item to the v1.5.0 admin

    Thank you for a very detailed set of instructions. I will give it try tomorrow.
    Using Zen Cart 1.5.1

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How do i add an item to the admin menu
    By tcarden in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17 Apr 2013, 11:12 PM
  2. back to the admin homepage after adding item
    By fonzie in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20 Feb 2013, 01:22 PM
  3. Adding a link to the Admin Menu
    By MartynG in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10 Dec 2010, 11:11 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9 Mar 2009, 08:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR