Plugin Contributions

Default lost customized footer: tried to fix: PHP out of memory

Hi Everyone, first of all I would like to say how impressed I am with Zen cart, the way it is set up, the way contributions are made, support, the whole lot from the ground up has been an excellent & pleasant learning experience, many thanks to all the contributors that made this possible!

This is my first zen install v1.5.1, and i'm new to the world of website development after just finishing an adaption of a template for my first website I needed a shop to go with it and decided to give zen cart a try before going for the extra monthly cost option.

I have to say I don't understand how your competitors are still in business!

Anyway, I have read many pages all over the forum, installing via secure ftp, modifying, fixing, moving on until the next problem, searching, reading, modifying & fixing. Unfortunately I have reached a point and am now stuck:

I set up zen cart and it worked straight away with my ssl cert, no problems, I was impressed! (Especially after all the horror stories I read about 1and1, it turns out if you follow the instructions everything goes smoothly after all.)

I installed the Aberdeen Natural template and configured it, excellent! (I have read the entire thread a few times now.)

I decided to remove the menu footer, downloaded the add-on/plugin pack, scanned the support thread a few times and then followed the un-installation instructions provided with the files.

The footer was gone and in its place an error log reporting a missing footer php file.

I filled the gap with the original footer php file from my backup of the fresh installation.

Still no footer and a new error log, a command in a footer php file in the Aberdeen template folder was pointing to the old footer_menu php file name in the includes folder (from memory anyway), I changed the file name in the code back to the original tpl_footer.php so it could find the file I restored from backup.