Plugin Contributions

Default installing additional templates at localhost

I have XAMPP installed and have installed Zen Cart at localhost and it's working fine. I want to try a couple of free templates out, but cannot figure out how to install them. These are templates I found at http://(sorry, site offline)/.

I've only found one post on this forum (2010) and the person asking the question was told that they shouldn't work from localhost.

Well, I want to work from localhost right now because I don't want to trash my current site which is using WordPress and Cart66. I'm testing out some shopping carts to see if any will work better that what I currently have.

So, could someone please tell me how to add these templates to the latest install of Zen Cart at localhost. I've downloaded 4 of them (Alyssa Rounded, Apparel Boutique, Earthy Boutique, and Pink Boutique) and put them all in a folder called downloaded_templates. I've been writing html since 1995 and PHP/MySQL since 2001, so do know how to use FTP, set permissions, ect...

If it looks like Zen Cart will work for me, then I will install it on my site. I use HostGator and ZenCart is one of the shopping carts that can be installed from the control panel.

Thanks,
    Alisa
    Last edited by dancingbay; 19 Jan 2013 at 06:54 AM.

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: installing additional templates at localhost

Most of the templates should work fine if installed correctly. Some might have some glitches with the 1.5.# Series. localhost can work if correctly set in the configure files.
    Each should come with readme or install file that tells you how to load that template.
    It's not recommended to use auto-installers out of the cpanel to install Zen Cart. One should NEVER use an auto-installer to upgrade.

Plugin Contributions

Adding to that I'd recommend that you DO ALWAYS initially build in localhost so you can buildand test yo your hearts ccontent without effecting a live site.