Plugin Contributions

Default Database Nightmare - Attributes - Scripts Required to Fix Major Issues w/ Categories

OK, where to begin! We're trying to move our website from this:

http://www.silkblooms.co.uk/ over onto this www.silkblooms.co.uk/sbx/ It's still got an awful lot of work to be done as it's eventually going to be based on http://www.karenmillen.com with the Ajax auto load and filters. We've ran into a major problem though, read on.

I am not a web designer. Not by any stretch of the imagination. When I built the existing website I basically taught myself everything by reading and writing on forums, experimenting and fumbling through. So, when I was looking for a way to filter products (way back in the beginning) I came up with the idea of cross-linking them all into categories. What should I should have done is assign attributes! So, for example, all of the red wedding flowers on the site will be cross-linked into a hidden category called "red". It's the same for all of the attributes on all 6300 products!

So, instead of having 6300 products with attributes like "what is it" - "who is it for" - "what colour is it" - "what price range is it" - "what shape is it"..... we have categories called, "red", "white", "blue"...... "rounded", "cascade"...... "mini posy"..... "corsage"..... etc. and all the products are cross-linked into several categories.

The new website needs them to be assigned with attributes instead. This is the only way that the Ajax auto load and the price slider will be able to work.

So, I've been racking my brain trying to think of a quick fix (well, quicker than manually going through every product and assigning attributes).