Thread: Upgrading

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Upgrading

I'm in the process of upgrading from1.3.8b to 1.5.1. I'm working on a Mac. I've installed Text Wrangler to compare files for changes.

I'm a newbie so I expect this may turn out to be a really dumb question. Here goes:

There are about 1600 files to compare and evidently Text Wrangler can only compare files, not folders when used in conjunction with Dreamweaver. My question is: do I have to compare every single file, or is there a list somewhere of the files which may have been changed/altered or a list of files which would not be changed?

I'm using the Classic template and don't think there are any add-ons. I do see the zx138a_php53 patch for the security issue with 1.3.8. The site only uses Paypal for payments.

I've inherited this site and am tasked with the upgrade. Therefore, I don't know exactly what has been or not been done with the site.

Thanks!

Blog Entries
    Plugin Contributions

Default Re: comparing files

1. Here are some suggested tools for Mac and other operating systems: http://www.zen-cart.com/wiki/index.php/Useful_Tools

2. You really *should* compare YOUR site's files against the ORIGINAL v138a files to first determine the changes your staff have made to the site. Then, once you're armed with that VERY important information, you can relatively easily reconstruct those changes onto the latest version.
    (The changes your staff made will be far fewer than what the ZC developers did in the span of 6+ years between the versions you're upgrading through.)

3. http://www.zen-cart.com/entry.php?3-...d-of-upgrading

Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole