Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    16
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Hello I up graded my site from 1.38 to 1.5.1 since the upgrade sales dropped dramatically to almost 0

    In the back end Admin Panel the product description box is blank yet product descriptions show for the products on the main web site fine?

    I cant change or edit any information in Admin Panel for Define Pages Editor or Ezy Pages all the description boxes are blank yet the information is showing on the main web site? Such as the front/main page, contact us etc?

    Meta Tag descriptions in Admin blank some show and some don't?

    When i place a description in for a product in Admin i get Capital A's all over the place?

    I did previously have a Pay Pal issue that's why i upgraded the site to 1.5 but this was resolved by a new IP address.

    My site has not functioned correctly since the upgrade to 1.5.1

    Should i go back to the old version 1.38 or does any one have a solution please? Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    410
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    It sounds as though you have made errors in your merges during upgrade.
    The A's you are seeing sound like utf-8 issues.

    Carefully check all your merges, be sure to check any files in custom folders against the vanilla files from default folders.
    Save any language files as utf-8, without BOM.
    Don't change the reference to utf-8 in the 1.5.1 english.php
    Run Dr Bytes MySQL-latin1-to-UTF8-Converter script, available from downloads i believe, that will update your db to utf8.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,414
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    232

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    410
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Very true DrByte, although it should be pointed out, as we don't know the level of knowledge the OP has, that the utf-8/iso-8859-1 point won't be the cause of a bunch of blank boxes in admin. Of course, if sensei knows better, i will stand corrected :)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    16
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Hello


    OK so i feel it will be best to re install the old back up i have of 1.3 i have because i have no idea what any of this means.

    Is this possible just to go back to the old version that was working really well? and how would i do this?
    Last edited by Balloonalicious; 22 Jun 2013 at 10:55 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    16
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Web master tools also says Googlebot can't access your site so i guess this is why no sales for me?

    I don't know what my SEO company is getting paid to do if they don't already know this!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    16
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    OK so i feel it will be best to re install the old back up i have of 1.3 i have because i have no idea what any of this means.

    Is this possible just to go back to the old version that was working really well? and how would i do this?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    16
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Can i re install the old back up i have of 1.3 i have because i have no idea what any of this means.

    Is this possible just to go back to the old version that was working really well? and how would i do this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    7,518
    Plugin Contributions
    8

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    First of all, the 1.3.8a that you came from is known to have several vulnerabilities. Going back to that is not recommended.

    Secondly, while it seems that there's no light at the end of the tunnel other than a train, these things are often fixed more simply than one might think. I for one would like to know more about your installation. Answering some of the posting tips could help. What mods are installed on this cart? Are you in the root or a subdirectory? Have your SEO "experts" done any link rewriting?

    Thirdly, what part of editing the files are you having problems with? Finding them or editing them?

    Lastly, have you also looked in your log files for any clues? http://tutorials.zen-cart.com/index.php?article=82
    Last edited by dbltoe; 25 Jun 2013 at 01:54 AM.
    Did you read the posting tips?!?
    Responsive Color Changes for 155-156c demo here.
    Zen Cart PCI Compatible Hosting

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6,186
    Plugin Contributions
    7

    Default Re: Admin Panel the product description box is blank after upgrade to 1.5

    Quote Originally Posted by Balloonalicious View Post
    OK so i feel it will be best to re install the old back up i have of 1.3 i have because i have no idea what any of this means.

    Is this possible just to go back to the old version that was working really well? and how would i do this?
    Please don't do this. You will regret it.

    The problem you describe isn't particularly unusual, and generally quite easy to fix.


    1. Edit your upgraded english.php file to use the old CHARSET and setlocale settings (SEE YOUR OLD english.php FILE CONTENTS).
      That is, KEEP the old references to iso-8859-1 INSTEAD of utf-8.
      ... AND ...
    2. Also edit your two configure.php files to set DB_CHARSET to 'latin1' instead of 'utf8'
      (add the line if it doesn't exist):
      define('DB_CHARSET', 'latin1');


    If you try *anything else* before trying these 2 steps (3 files to check/edit) you are doing yourself (and us) a great disservice.

    Don't worry if you don't have any idea what it all means. Just check/ensure that these files have the text 'iso-8859-1' & 'latin1' and that there are no references for 'utf8'.

    Cheers
    Rod
    Ozpost - The Ultimate Shipping module for Australian Merchants. Click these links for its Homepage, or Download from Zen-Cart.com.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 funky font after upgrade, and some links are missing in admin nav panel
    By simpledomaining in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24 Aug 2012, 06:11 AM
  2. admin blank after upgrade
    By helpme in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7 Dec 2011, 04:38 PM
  3. admin panel blank after installing addon
    By loaner in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 Aug 2011, 09:08 PM
  4. Edit Product in Admin Blank Page after Upgrade
    By BlackOrchidCouture in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25 May 2011, 04:28 PM
  5. After upgrade from 1.3. 8 to 1.3.9f Admin panel not allowing changes
    By miep in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 26 Aug 2010, 02:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR