Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default I need step-by-step instructions on updating my site! Help!

I currently have ZenCart version Zen Cart v1.3.7.1/v1.3.7 and I need to upgrade to the newest version so I can get USPS shipping module up and running. I need step-by-step instructions on how to do. I am new to website maintenance. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: I need step-by-step instructions on updating my ZenCart version! Help!

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: I need step-by-step instructions on updating my ZenCart version! Help!

I unfortunately do not know or understand all the computer lingo. For example what is a new directory, php files, etc. I am very new to website maintenance so I pretty much do not know how to anything lol.

Plugin Contributions

Quote Originally Posted by theteapet View Post
    For example what is a new directory, php files, etc.

I am very new to website maintenance so I pretty much do not know how to anything lol.
    Maybe I'm mistaken, but if you don't understand not even the very basics, how do you think you'll be able to upgrade your site? It's not a 3-click process... It actually does require some knowledge and there are 2 approaches - you can either rebuild your site from scratch or do manual file comparison and merging.

If you're clueless about what you're doing, you should NOT tackle with the live site because the damage you do might be irreversible. Instead, create a FULL backup of the site (both files and database) and then start upgrading on a clone site. You're in for quite some work, but it's definitely gonna be an interesting learning curve for you.

Plugin Contributions

Quote Originally Posted by theteapet View Post
    I unfortunately do not know or understand all the computer lingo. For example what is a new directory, php files, etc. I am very new to website maintenance so I pretty much do not know how to anything lol.