Plugin Contributions

Have a Drink Questions about upgrading 1.5.1 to 1.5.3

Hello and thanks in advance for any advice that you can give on doing an upgrade from 1.5.1 to 1.5.3.

First off, this is my first time doing a Zen Cart upgrade. I have been using 1.5.1 for about 4 or 5 months now.
    I have thoroughly read through the upgrade instructions that come in the Docs folder of 1.5.3. I have already used Beyond Compare 4 to note any and all changes that have been made from the original untouched version of 1.5.1. I came up with about 20 pages of changes in the files between the mods and the code changes I have made to zen cart. A good majority of these noted changes I found were from mods that were installed. I also went ahead and compared the template I am using with a clean version of the template and found about 8 pages of mostly minor changes to the appearance of the template.

I am running in to a bit of confusion on the next step to take complete the upgrade.

First question: When in the process do you re-install the modules that you were previously using.

Second question: When do you install the module that you were using in the previous version of Zen Cart?

Third question: Are you essentially just scrapping the original version of Zen Cart (in my case, 1.5.1) and rebuilding everything on the 1.5.3 and upgrading the original 1.5.1 database from the original live site and using the zc_install to upgrade the database to the 1.5.3 version?

I apologize in advance if I am making this more complicated that it has to be, but I just want to make sure I do this correctly and minimize my change of screwing something up. I really just want to understand the process better.

If anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them.

Thanks again,
    Chris

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Questions about upgrading 1.5.1 to 1.5.3

For question #2, I meant to ask when do you install the template you were using in your live site before the upgrade.