Plugin Contributions

Default New template not working?!

Hi all, this is my time using Zen Cart, but I've been building websites for several years. Very surprised this one has me stumped.

I have done a lot of reading on Zen Cart and started with the basics. However, once I change to my CUSTOM template, my website visually goes blank. This is one of the main tutorials I'm following, among others: http://www.zen-cart.com/content.php?...ustom-template

I did everything like the tutorial said to, and it all made sense. However, after I finished changing my new template over (Tools > Template Selection), and then went to check out my website, the page is totally blank. Just white, no text, no anything.
    http://pixelberrypiedesigns.com/shop/

Help?
    I've been over all the steps again. And I deleted my CUSTOM template files, and then restarted the process. Can't figure out what might be blocking the custom template from appearing!

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: New template not working?!

A white screen is a sign that you have a PHP error within the script. You can either turn on error_reporting if you have access, or view the PHP log files to see the error.

It may be as simple as a ; missing, or a } if you are updating a template file.

| absolute |
    Back, after a 4 year absence! Did you miss me?
    Absolute Web Solutions Ltd
    Interested in our work? Take a look at one of our sites - The Tech Store

Plugin Contributions

And those error log files will be in your /logs folder. Post the newest one here if you don't understand what it's telling you.

Plugin Contributions

Alright, here's the problem log. I've received dozens of these!

[20-Oct-2014 21:59:48 America/Denver] PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in ........shop/includes/languages/custom/english.php on line 433

Code in question:
    430 | define('TEXT_BEFORE_DOWN_FOR_MAINTENANCE', 'NOTICE: This website is scheduled to be down for maintenance on: ');